A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Weekly Wrap Up: False starts

on July 25, 2016

Remember how I was all excited during last week’s wrap up about getting back to running so I could get ready for my marathon training cycle? This week’s wrap up is not going to be like that. Thanks to the crazy heat we’re having in the Midwest, I have a big fat zero for runs this week. Oops. We were under a heat advisory all week and the one time I tried it, I realized immediately it was unsafe for me. That doesn’t mean there was no activity at all last week, though.

My strategy for staying active during a hot week:

  • Good chance to get started with strength training! I did three rounds of strength training, including one with my new weighted bar.
  • Walk the miles you don’t run: When it is too hot to run, I try to still get out to get some miles on my legs with hilly walks and I did that well this week, with several walks, including my 4 miles I’d planned for Saturday’s run.

Other things I could have done but didn’t because of my schedule this week would have been hitting the treadmill, the pool or a class at the gym. The key is to keep moving but stay safe. Heat injury is a serious and deadly possibility when the weather gets this out of hand. No workout is worth that risk. Check out the signs and more info on heat injury here. Heat is tricky for me now with the lupus particularly because I get dizzy so easily anyway (especially during flares like I’ve had lately) so adding to that by going out in the heat seems like a guaranteed way to crash.

This week, I’m in Montana for work so heat is less of a concern. I’m planning lots of hikes and a couple of runs to take advantage of the gorgeous scenery and temperatures. I’ve started off well with strength training already this morning and a hike planned during my afternoon break at my meeting.
Back in Montana - not a bad view during the meeting coffee breaks

My NSV this week is staying off the scale – possibly the most literal NSV ever, right? However, I’ve been working a lot to remind myself that I’ve got to start shifting my thinking about food during the marathon cycle. Despite staying off the scale, I still stayed on track with good food choices for the most part.

I’m grateful for coffee. Thanks to travel delays, we didn’t get to our hotel in Montana until 1 am Sunday and then I spent all day Sunday from 8 am – 9 pm in meetings. Coffee is a lifesaver. The colleague I traveled with is running this meeting and I am amazed she was able to hold it together all day yesterday on 6-ish hours of sleep. My good deed was staying awake in the car Sunday morning as we drove from the airport in Bozeman out to Big Sky. It was a dark and windy road, so an extra pair of eyes to look out for curves, animals and other cars were definitely needed in the wee hours of the morning, not to mention the chatting to help driver stay awake.

weekly wrap up

Not much of a wrap up but I know that this week will be better. Thanks as always to Holly and Tricia for hosting our link up. How do you stay active when the heat gets out of hand?

 

 


8 responses to “Weekly Wrap Up: False starts

  1. bberns27 says:

    Great post! I love reading about people getting healthy through positive life choices! I write about similar things in my blog. I encourage you to check it out if you want some inspiration/motivation. I am definitely subscribing to yours for more posts like this!

    https://millennialsurvivalblog.wordpress.com/blog/

    Britt

  2. Jennifer @ Dashing in Style says:

    Staying safe when it’s so hot like this is critical. I’m lucky I know my limits (I would probably pass out if I tried to run in the sun in the middle of the day), but many people don’t. My husband just bought a new mountain bike and decided to go on a very hilly ride for the first time in years yesterday–the hottest day of the year. He said he ended up getting light-headed and woozy and had to stop and it took him a while to feel right. I had to scold him for going biking (I was away or wouldn’t have let him go)!

  3. Not sure where in Montana you are, but be safe running and hiking solo! Lots of wild critters out there!

    • I ran across a moose last time I was up here. I definitely keep my eyes open and only run on the roads around the resort. Any hikes are in groups, I promise! So far, all I’ve seen are deer and chipmunks. 🙂

  4. HoHo Runs says:

    Well since I live in the deep south and have to put up with this nasty heat for months on end, I make sure to go out very early (dawn) and try to stay in the shade as much as possible especially on those long runs. I sure do agree about coffee. I don’t know how I’d get through my days without it. I hope you are taking advantage of the Montana weather by enjoying some running and hiking. Thanks for linking, Jessica.

    • I definitely am taking advantage of it – and reminding myself that at least my summer in Omaha should be over in a few weeks, unlike you guys who will be hot for months still. 😦

Leave a comment