A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Weekly Wrap-Up: Feeling a little like a runner again

on July 18, 2016

Yes, even though it is seriously hot here in the Midwest (with even more heat coming this week), I’m feeling like running again. That running retreat I attended last week did a lot to get my mind in gear for marathon training apparently. 🙂 Whatever caused this boost in motivation, I’ll take it! I hit my workout goals this week of two weekday runs (training to wake up early is an important first step of any training plan, right?) and a weekend run of a set distance where I actually strapped on the Garmin. Done and done! I even got in some stretching, foam rolling and strength work!

Workouts: We’re just going to highlight the workouts I actually did, since Monday, Wednesday and Friday included stretching and strength work, but no other dedicated workouts per se.

Tuesday I went for a thirty minute run/walk in the morning and another ten minute walk later in the day. It was a Garmin-less run – probably about 2.5 miles – but just the effort of getting myself out of bed is important to re-learn. I need to get my morning routine a little faster!

Thursday Pretty much the same as Tuesday – woke up, went for a little run. This was shorter – about twenty minutes – but I’m glad I didn’t skip it all together even though I was tight on time. Any run is better than no run at all, right?!

Saturday It felt a little silly wearing a Garmin for just three miles, since I know a couple of three mile routes in my neighborhood, but psychologically I wanted that signal to myself that it was time to get a little more serious about training again. My plan for the next few weeks is to have my weekend runs at a set distance: 3 miles this week, 4 miles next week, 5 miles the last weekend of July – all so I’m ready for the start of training 8/1, where my first weekend will include 4 and 6 miles back to back.

Sunday My training and race cycle for the next few months includes first getting me ready for the back-to-back half marathons that make up the I-35 challenge in October and then picking up at the “half marathon” point in the Hal Higdon novice marathon training program to get ready for the Walt Disney World Marathon (less than 6 months away!). The first half of training will thus include back to back runs on Saturdays and Sundays. Given that, I thought with my progressing 3-4-5 mile runs over the next three weekends before training really starts, I’d also sandwich those with 3-4-5 mile walk/runss as well. That plan got a little hijacked this weekend when Darrell woke up Sunday with horrible vertigo. Thus, instead of getting another dedicated 3 miles, I instead got a day with 12,000+ steps and loads of hilly walking as Oliver and I tackled the zoo and the Wildlife Safari park. My legs were tired enough after it was all done to definitely count this as a workout.

Definitely what I neededI’m grateful for the time I got to spend with him too. For the last week or so, I’ve been really lupus flared with worse swelling and stiffness in my hands and arms than I’ve had since my diagnosis, coupled with weird skin stuff and jaw pain and just general lupus yuck. I’ve been trying to figure out what might be triggering it since work isn’t especially stressful and that’s usually my trigger. I think it’s a combo of sun exposure, poor sleep coming out of vacation and a general sense of anxiety and unease about all of the things happening in our world. I just want to wrap my family and my people in a bubble to protect us all, but it’d have to be a really big bubble because it turns out everyone is “my people.” Having those hours with my most important little person, feeling his little hand in mine and knowing that at least for the moment we were safe and together makes me so grateful and so heartbroken for those who can’t say that anymore. My goal this week to write down my gratitude every day and to listen to my kid in the car and at dinner every day without focusing on the thousand other things on my to do list. My hands feel a little better today and I suspect those hours with his little hand in mine are what has helped.

I had lots of good deeds this week, which I think came from a desire to counter all of the bad out there. My favorite was holding a baby so a Mom could go to the bathroom without trying to juggle her three month old while we were at the zoo. I like weeks where I can remember several good deeds – I should make more of those happen!

Oops
My NSV is one that wasn’t immediately obvious to me at first, but in hindsight, I’m proud. For the last year or more, I haven’t been able to have ice cream because the lactose intolerance has just gotten too bad. I’ve had a couple of dairy free soft serve things, but nothing that really felt like ice cream. Darrell found this almond milk ice cream when we were checking out a new grocery store Friday night and when we got home, I did the “wrong” thing and just started eating it out of the carton. Always a bad idea with those pints of ice cream because the pint seems small enough to be a serving – totally not true, sadly. Anyway, I happily ate 600 calories of ice cream and it was delicious. It felt like real ice cream. Did I intend to eat all of it? Nope, but did I feel self-disgust and binge-y afterwards? Nope – I just mentally put that stuff on the list with cookies of things I probably shouldn’t keep in the house and moved on with my evening. Big win!

Anybody else make new grocery stores a family outing? We have wild and crazy Friday nights around here!

Thanks as always to Holly and Tricia for hosting our link up!

weekly wrap up

10 responses to “Weekly Wrap-Up: Feeling a little like a runner again

  1. Hope you are feeling better! Sounds like a great week over all! I love to sneak to the grocery store by myself, LOL!

  2. Jennifer @ Dashing in Style says:

    Awesome week of starting your running routine back up! Nice way to pre-train so you’ll be all set for the beginning of training. I was never a big ice cream fan so don’t crave it, but I do love the So Delicious coconut milk cookie dough ice cream! It is hard to eat just a little though!

    • I’ve been wary of coconut milk based ice creams because I don’t actually like the flavor of coconut. I agree – small amounts of ice cream are incredibly hard! It’s better just to keep it out of the house all together.

  3. Anything is better than nothing I say too! I will often times go on time and not distance! It mixes things up don’t you think?

  4. HoHo Runs says:

    I’m glad you feel like running again but hate to hear your Lupus is bothering you. Could it be the heat and humidity? Is it typically worse in the summer? It’s awesome you are training for back to back halves. I’m still contemplating the WDW marathon. It hasn’t sold out yet. It’s only 12 weeks after Chicago. But…it’s Disney! LOL. I find a trip to the grocery store to be pure torture, new one or old one. Ha!! Thanks for linking, Jessica!

    • It’s definitely worse with the summer sun and I think I haven’t been sleeping well as I transition back into the real world from vacation. I’m so grateful that my lupus is just annoying, in terms of fatigue and joints, instead of some of the more severe complications you can get so I can’t complain too much. 🙂

  5. […] how I was all excited during last week’s wrap up about getting back to running so I could get ready for my marathon training cycle? This week’s […]

  6. […] how I was all excited during last week’s wrap up about getting back to running so I could get ready for my marathon training cycle? This week’s […]

Leave a Reply

