A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Winter Cross Training

on November 2, 2016

I’m a day late for Tuesdays on the Run but winter cross training is very important for a Nebraska girl! Thanks as always to Erika, Marcia and Patty for hosting our link up!

ToTR logo

Normally, by the time November gets here, I’m already complaining about the cold. This year, things have stayed weirdly warm, weirdly late. However, before I know it, I’ll be fighting the winter weather. For my runs, I try as hard as I can to get them in outside, instead of on the treadmill.  However, I’ll happily stay inside where it is warm for winter cross training.

  • Gym classes: I like the yoga classes at my gym, because I feel like they push me harder than I would go at home and it’s a better workout. I also love (and miss!) Zumba at the gym. Since one of my goals for the last 10 weeks of marathon training is to be a little more serious about cross training, I’m going to work some more class time at the gym into my schedule. Currently, I have cross training on the weekend on the day opposite my long run. I’m planning to make that a session in the gym for a yoga or other class, since I should have the time (and may be able to drag Darrell along!).
  • Stationary bike: I have a stationary bike at home that I rarely use. However, with my plan to be more dedicated about cross training, I will definitely be using this on days I don’t get to the gym. Might as well work out while I watch TV!
  • Walking: While I don’t love running on a treadmill, I love walking hills on one while I read a Kindle book or watch a movie. I can also get walks in here on campus, where I know the sidewalks are well maintained and slipping is less likely. I LOVE walking in the falling snow and even though it is warm now, I know I’ll be doing that again before I know it. The trick is going to be not letting myself count all of the walking I do around campus count as my cross training workout. I really need to be more dedicated about the effort to support my marathon training.
  • Snow shoveling: In Nebraska, snow shoveling is a fact of life. I actually try to wake up early to get to the snow before Darrell gets out there with the snow blower so I can get at least a little bit of a workout. With all of the squatting and lifting that goes into shoveling snow, it definitely feels like a full body workout! I also weirdly enjoy it – I think because I can always immediately see my progress and because it’s a nice quiet time outside in the snow. As a native southerner, I’m still fascinated with snow after 7 years in the Midwest.
Such cuteness - how can I be anything but grateful for my life?

Such cuteness – how can I be anything but grateful for my life?

 

One day, I’d like to try out snow shoeing, which I think I can do in the parks here. Maybe I’ll put that on the post-marathon workout list!

How do you keep moving in the winter? Anybody seeing real winter yet?


4 responses to “Winter Cross Training

  1. mkadens1 says:

    I too would love to give snow shoeing a try. Yes, it’s been oddly warm so far too. Not complaining, but it makes it seem like the holidays are sneaking up faster!

  2. Patty H says:

    You had me until snow shoveling. Gah! No thank you. I like it here in the heat. 😉

Leave a comment