A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Tuesdays on the Run: Olympics watchlist

on August 2, 2016

This week’s Tuesdays on the Run topic is all about the Olympics and what events we’re planning to watch. Thanks as always to Patty, Marcia and Erika for hosting our link up!

ToTR logoOf course, gymnastics are on my list. Since I was a little girl, I’ve loved watching women’s gymnastics (even though there’s never been a point in my life I could do those things!).

Since we have the Olympic swimming trials here in Omaha, I feel like I need to watch at least part of those as well. I’m amazed at how fast those races go! And the diving! Holy cow!

Runners World cover

Thanks to Runner’s World, I’ve developed a whole new appreciation for the running and track events as well. I’m especially intrigued by the steeplechase events because I’ve never seen on of those (for people anyway!).

My favorite part about the Olympics, though, are all of the things you stumble across that you didn’t even realize were Olympic sports. Apparently there’s some kind of slalom, like you do on skis, but with a canoe it water? Sounds intriguing! Last summer Olympics, Darrell and I got sucked into the weightlifting for some reason. It was amazing to watch these tiny women kill it! I’ve got the schedule open on my phone so we can pick out some things for the DVR over the next couple of weeks.

I just really hope that everyone stays as safe as possible down there! What are you looking forward to in the Olympics this summer?

How do you feel about Olympic spoilers? It doesn’t really affect my personal enjoyment much if I know the outcome beforehand, but I know some people get really upset about it!

 


8 responses to “Tuesdays on the Run: Olympics watchlist

  1. I’m the spoiler queen. I always watch Twitter and google what I need to know. LOL I also read the last couple pages of a book once I’ve started to see how it ends… it’s just how I’m wired!

  2. Meg B says:

    SWIMMING!!! I was a swimmer in high school and I love how close some of the races are! I also like gymnastics, diving, the track and field stuff. I know about the canoing thing from visiting Denver, they had a course out there and I read about how Olympic hopefuls practiced there. That is just nuts to me hahahha

  3. I have no issues with spoilers. I’ll still watch it. But I just tend to watch random things when I happen to turn on the tv rather than ever plan my watching LOL.

    • So far, sadly, my watching has been clips on CNN the next morning rather than actually watching any of the events. It’s been crazy busy! Hopefully this week, we can actually make time to watch some things.

  4. I probably won’t watch much of the Olympics but gymnastics is always my favorite since I did that when I was younger.

Leave a comment