A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Weekly Wrap Up: Active week in Montana!

on August 1, 2016

My exercise this week was definitely different from my usual week:

Monday: An hour of hiking through the mountains, plus strength training in the morning
Big Sky hike

Tuesday: Running in the AM, followed by kayaking (harder to steer than I expected!) and stand up paddleboarding (easier than I expected!) in the afternoon.
Water play

Wednesday: Hiking and ziplining
Zip lining in Big Sky

Thursday: My first ever river rafting trip – LOVED it!
river rafting
Friday: Run & strength training in the AM

Saturday: Strength,  yoga

Sunday: Walk – intended to run, but between a storm and a headache, it didn’t happen.

Now I’m here: August 1, the official start of marathon training! This week:
Marathon week 1

I had a huge NSV today at the zoo with O (his school is closed, so we’ve had a mommy-O day): He didn’t finish his french fries. We all know I have trouble with fries lately. I told myself that “training started – I’m an athlete” and I threw them away!!! Did I feel a little silly having “I’m an athlete” as part of my self-talk on day one of my first marathon cycle – a day without a run even scheduled? Sure. But it worked. 🙂

Since O and I are home today, I’ll have no excuse for not doing some strength training while he’s napping (not that he’s fallen asleep yet mind you) and then I’ll be able to ride the stationary bike while he’s watching cartoons later. I haven’t been on that thing in ages! I’m planning on taking my cross training a little more seriously this cycle. Really, this is my first – and possibly only – marathon cycle. It’s important to pay attention to all parts of training – rest, cross training, strength training, stretching/foam rolling, and nutrition – not just running. I feel like I’m ready for that amount of intention with a training plan, since it’s been a year since I’ve worked that hard to train. Glad to get started!

Thanks as always to Holly and Tricia for hosting our link up!

weekly wrap upI confess, I’m excited that it is August because it feels one step closer to fall. I’ve seen Halloween candy and costumes out already!

Anybody else counting the days until fall gets here?

15 responses to “Weekly Wrap Up: Active week in Montana!

  1. christyruns says:

    I am so ready for fall in the sense that I am tired of being hot all the time, but not really in the sense that it gets light later, and we are that much closer to winter! Glad you enjoyed Montana, I live in the eastern part of the state. Not so many mountains but still beautiful

  2. You are an inspiration. Proud of you for throwing the fries away. You go girl.

  3. By the way, the scenery is beautiful!

  4. Meg B says:

    Wow, I am most impressed with your active week! LOVE your NSV! And you are an athlete, woman. You’re training for a marathon!!!!

  5. Jennifer @ Dashing in Style says:

    Woot! Welcome to marathon training! I know you’ve been waiting for it am sure you’re thrilled it’s here. I can totally relate to wanting to do all the things right since this could be my only marathon too. Have a great first week of training!

  6. HoHo Runs says:

    Yes, I’m definitely counting those days until Fall! Hooray for the start of marathon training. I’m excited to follow along. I’d love to go rafting but the trips we have here include some serious rapids and I can’t talk my family into it. You sure did a lot of fun things on your trip to Montana and those pictures are beautiful. Thanks for linking, Jessica!

  7. Wow your description of kayaking being harder and the SUP being easier is just the opposite of what I would think. I do have a kayak but never been on a SUP! I want to try it though.Zip lining is so much fun too! You really got a great variety and so much fun isn’t that the way to do it!
    I am looking forward to Fall. I love Halloween and it looks like I’ll be in New Orleans again this year. How spooky is that!

Leave a Reply

