A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Forty by Forty!

on July 14, 2017

I turned 39 years old last week, which means 40 is just around the corner and I’ve gotta say – I’m looking forward to 40! I am so much more confident in who I am as I approach 40 than I was at 30. I have grown so much over my 30s and I think my 40s are going to rock even more. I decided to make a list of 40 things I wanted to do to celebrate this last year of my 30s and get ready for the greatness that is to come.

This list is in no particular order and isn’t a list of self improvement goals or anything like that. There are a couple “grown up” tasks on the list that I really want to get a handle on this year, but mostly – this is a list of FUN stuff. I’ve already got plans to check some of these off of my list this month to start this year with a bang!

1 – Use more candles.
2 – Use more wine glasses.
3 – Wear more of my jewelry. I have gorgeous necklaces and earrings! I need to break them out more!
Bling!
4 – Learn to ice skate.
5 – Start a happiness project ( more on this to come later! )
6 – Learn to style my hair.
7 – Socialize at least once a month.
8 – Learn to do my makeup.
9 – Make cocktails! ( Bar set purchased today – Thanks Mildred! )
10 – Master 5 new recipes.
11 – Work through the Great British Bakeoff cookbook with Darrell.
12 – Read my stack of books.
13 – Hang my marathon medal up in the house. Own my awesome!
14 – Learn to wear scarves.
15 – Own my non-craftiness and purge all of those unfinished projects.
16 – Build & stock a bar (to go with #9!).
17 – Pursue leadership training – Time to own the fact that I’m a leader professionally!
18 – Practice gratitude daily.
19 – Explore my state.
20 – Find an exercise I enjoy as much as running.
21 – Kiss someone every day.
22 – Learn self defense (again and again and again).
23 – Meet one new person at every work or school function I attend.
24 – Do something new / have an adventure every month.
25 – Learn to play a Christmas carol on my piano (yep, have a piano I can’t play!).
26 – Have a mini spa day every week. I have a ton of spa-ish stuff. Time to use it!
27 – Go dancing.
28 – Notice my own prettiness.
29 – Find a charity to support.
30 – Build up other women.
31 – Go on more lunch dates and happy hours.
32 – Take a wine class.
33 – Send out thank yous to my mentors.
34 – See a concert.
35 – Understand our financial situation and stay more up to date.
36 – Learn to make bread.
37 – Master a signature party appetizer/side dish/dessert.
38 – Use the spice mixes in my cabinet (have a ton I don’t use!).
39 – Listen to new music (open to suggestions!).
40 – Date each of my guys at least once a month. This month, painting with Oliver and Thai cooking class with Darrell.
Date day

At the rate we’re going, my house is going to be overrun with these paintings. Oliver asked me to go back later this month to paint a snowman he saw on the calendar, so we can have it for a Christmas decoration.

I’ll keep you updated on my list as I move through these things – should be fun!!! (Should also be fun for any of my friends who are in town or go visit, as a lot of these involve sharing food & drink with people!)

8 responses to “Forty by Forty!

  1. Jennifer @ Dashing in Style says:

    I always say that the older I get, the better life gets, and it sounds like that’s you too! Love this list. I have a “fun” summer bucket list…with one thing on it. This motivates me to get more creative with fun things to do.

    • You are in a much more lively city and always seem to have fun things to do. 🙂 I get a little envious! I had the chance to live in Pittsburgh for a job several years ago and your posts about the city make me wish I’d done it.

  2. Anna says:

    Love this….so many fun ideas. I am a little envious of your Thai cooking class…can’t wait to hear more about it.

  3. […] Friday I meant to wake up early for my tempo walk but was wiped out from Thursday and Friday. Boo! However, I did end the day with a surprising workout: tubing down the Elkhorn River. This was my first experience tubing and I will say, it is more of an ab workout than you’d expect -holding yourself steady in that tube – based on how sore my abs were all weekend! I had a great time with my team on our first group retreat. It also checked the box of my “adventure a month” from my 40 by 40 list! […]

  4. […] on sleep (looks like that’ll be my first task in my “40 by 40” happiness […]

  5. […] one of my #40by40 goals achieved for the month: I made what I think will be a good mentoring connection at the […]

  6. […] are ample motivation to make improving my sleep the first big Happiness Project I tackle in my #40by40 […]

Leave a Reply

