A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Weekly Wrap-Up: Stickers galore (and a new plan!)

on July 11, 2017

This week has felt like I was finally back on track with activity. Check out all of these stickers:
Stickers
Those represent walks and dance workouts and strength training and most importantly, making that effort EVERY DAY. Well, most days anyway. For example, we were at the zoo Sunday and rather than sitting with Darrell, playing with our phones while O played in the splash pad, I asked Darrell if he’d mind supervising alone while I went for a walk. Thirty minutes of hilly hiking around the zoo later, I’d earned my sticker and felt much more productive than I would with 30 minutes of sitting around while O played!

Walk
I know, I know – I’ve been here before, where I finally felt like I’d found my workout mojo despite not having a race to train for. Not running has really made it hard to be consistent with workouts. I decided that the best way to get around that problem was to train – just not to run. I’m going to follow a training plan to WALK a half marathon (link here).

I struggled a lot with the logistics of walking a half marathon and mostly, doubt that I could resist running if I was in a race with other runners. I’ve settled on a one woman walking half marathon and Oliver has agreed to make my medal. I still need to map out the workout dates around my schedule and will update my half marathon tab and “race” day on the home page as soon as I’ve got it all figured out. This definitely feels like the kind of accountability I’m used to, even if it is for a one-woman race!

I actually did the first walking “speed intervals” today, which was just odd. By the time I felt like “okay, now I’m walking fast!” – the interval was over. It was REALLY hard not to run, but I’m sticking to my plan of letting my neck heal for a few months longer. It was surprisingly easy to get up, check the calendar and head out to check off that workout though – I think this will really help!

I’ve felt good about my eating this week too, even if the scale is still stubbornly stuck. I’m getting more and more back into my good habits from when I was losing and maintaining successfully, like focusing on fruits and veggies (LOVE the Costco vegan frozen burgers!) and not finishing everything on my plate when I’m eating out.
Leaving some on the plate

I know if I stay the course, my body will thank me. I also hereby promise to stop putting off getting my lab work done! I keep delaying it because, I confess, I’m worried it’s going to be abnormal with this weight regain. I’m worried my blood sugar will be high and my cholesterol and triglycerides will be off. You know what – if they are, I need to know it so I can tackle the problem! Avoiding the test just delays the inevitable. If they’re abnormal, the changes I’ve made to get back on a healthier path on the first step to fixing them. I need to “woman up” and get this done.

So, I’m soliciting ideas for a theme for my one woman walking half marathon. I can’t promise O is going to incorporate any of my suggestions into the medal he makes, but he might take your ideas more seriously than mine.

Date day
My little artist spent a lot of our painting class this weekend telling me “You don’t have to do it exactly like she says Mama” ๐Ÿ™‚ Who knows what kind of medal I’ll end up with!

Save

6 responses to “Weekly Wrap-Up: Stickers galore (and a new plan!)

  1. Meg B says:

    Look at all those stickers! Go you!

    I am excited to see what you medal ends up looking like. You have quite the little artist.

  2. Jennifer @ Dashing in Style says:

    Great idea to walk a half-marathon! It gives you the structure you’re looking for without risking further injury by running it. I’ll be interested to see your medal!

  3. Maybe I should buy some stickers, itโ€™s been awhile since Iโ€™ve played with them, and they always bring a smile to my face. I love the idea of waling a half marathon. Wow, your little artist is very talented.

Leave a Reply

