A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Birthday week updates!

on July 7, 2017

This crazy week has totally thrown me off. Between the holiday, a house guest and my birthday, I’ve looked up and suddenly it’s Friday!

Parade

Quick updates this week:

    • I’m gotten back to basics and using my tried and true sticker chart as a way to get motivated to work out more. My goal is twenty stickers for the month and so far, I’m doing well. It helps that I’ve set the goal as intentional exercise. Yesterday, I had over 9,000 steps thanks to the fact that I’m a very active mover when I’m teaching. I walked up and down the auditorium steps many times to get closer to students asking me questions. Great activity day – but not intentional exercise, so no sticker. Today I WILL earn myself a sticker.
    • I tried a new workout: a Hawaiian dancing DVD. Wow is my coordination bad these days! I’ll feel great once I have this workout mastered. πŸ™‚ I also got back on the workout bike for the first time in ages.

Workout

  • I stayed mostly on track diet-wise through my birthday, making my own sugar free angel food cake for a mixed berry shortcake and doing great with fruit and veggies.
  • I turned 39 years old this week and feel really excited about what my 39th year will be. I’m making a list of 40 things I want to do before my 40th birthday and will have that list of adventures for you next week. This isn’t a list of health goals or self-improvement or anything like this – this is a list of fun.

I don’t have any more vacation or house guests this summer, so I’m excited to get in a good rhythm with food and workouts. My goals for the month are:

  • 20 workout stickers
  • Tracking every day (even the “off plan” choices – which I did through my birthday!)
  • Weighing in every week
  • Blog once a week (goal: Tuesdays) – I realized that I’ve let blogging fall off my radar. Without running to write about, without successful weight loss / maintenance to write about, I wasn’t sure what to write about. I think I was also hiding my weight gain a bit. Writing about re-losing weight and about re-establishing a fitness habit after injury that derailed running is crucial for my own accountability and I KNOW I’m not the only person in this situation.

I hope everyone had a safe and happy holiday week! Anyone else feel totally discombobulated by a Tuesday holiday?

 

 

 

Save

4 responses to “Birthday week updates!

  1. Meg B says:

    Oh man, I bet you come up with an awesome list! Nice work on your stickers!

  2. Jennifer @ Dashing in Style says:

    Happy birthday! We’re all in the same boat with weight maintenance being a constant battle, with some wins and some losses. I always find your posts inspiring so hope you continue to write about your journey.

Leave a Reply

