A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Weekly Wrap-Up: Back from vacation!

on June 13, 2017

Last week’s workouts? Lots of walking around this place:
Castle

Yes, we survived Disney in June. It was muggy, rainy and still wonderful. We had lots of family time where we built great memories and ended the week still liking each other – which can be a miracle! Even better for my work-life balance struggles, I disengaged from my job for 10 whole days and it was glorious!

RainWe didn’t let the rain slow us down. Thank goodness for spare shoes and raincoats!

Pluto

Oliver told me that he knew there were people inside character suits 😦 . However, he said you totally forgot that when you got to talk to them up close, so it was still fun. That’s exactly how I see it kiddo!

I actually had a workout plan beyond just walking the parks. Thanks to my neck injury, there were a bunch of rides I couldn’t do. Instead of sitting and waiting for Darrell and O to finish the rides, I made a goal of walking 1000 steps every time they were on a ride I had to skip. I got loads of extra steps and saw some parts of the park I wouldn’t have otherwise.

Walking trails

We’ll talk more about park food choices later this week, but there was more good than bad there too!

Now, I’m back to normal routine and really feeling motivated to find some kind of non-running fitness plan I can stick with through the summer.

Goals for this week:

  • Track everything! Vacation eating is over and it’s time to get back to normal healthy eating. Fortunately, it’s summer which means loads of grilling and fresh fruit and veggies!
  • Two mile walks on Tuesday/Wednesday/Friday (aka the days I don’t have 7 am meetings!) before work and a four mile walk on the weekend.
  • Strength training X 2
  • Yoga X 1

I’d also like to work on riding my bike more over the summer and checking out some local hiking options. I’ll keep you posted!

Do you have a vacation coming up this summer? Do you set workout goals for your vacation weeks or take the week off from structure?

Thanks as always to Holly and Tricia (and this week’s guest host Kim who is training for a marathon in this weather!) for hosting our wrap up!

Save

One response to “Weekly Wrap-Up: Back from vacation!

  1. Anna says:

    Glad you had such a great vacation!! I don’t usually set vacation goals, but you may have inspired some for next time.

Leave a Reply

