A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Weekly Wrap Up: Slowly but surely!

on May 22, 2017

Slowly but surely I’m getting back on track!!

This week, I met most of my goals from last week:

  • Run two times: Done! I did two sets of 7 intervals (30 second run/2 minute walk). It feels so nice to be back to running again that I’m tempted to run longer, but I know slow and steady is the name of the game here to be safe with my neck. Every workout I get through without any neck/arm pain feels like a big win though!
  • Four mile long weekend walk: Technically, I did this (well most of it – 3.5 miles) but I combined it with  one of my run workouts. I did a five minute warm up walk, my 7 run/walk intervals and then walked to finish out my miles. Ideally, these would be separate but I slipped in the rain Saturday and couldn’t work out at all that day so I screwed up my schedule. 😦
  • Continue tracking: Done and rocking the tracking! Know what I’m really proud of? Mid-week (Wednesday-Thursday) I was down to 222, which is 9 pounds down from my re-gain high. Over the next two to three days I floated back up to 225, probably due to fluid given how quickly it happened and some saltier than usual food. Over the last year, any time I’ve noticed that kind of regain after a half-hearted attempt at righting the ship  I’ve said “screw it” and gone back to eating however I want. This week, not so much. I tracked the number and kept right on tracking my food. I really feel like I’m settling back into my groove with my food and tracking!
  • Thirty minutes of exercise a day: Other than Friday, where I just got too immersed in work to do it (or let myself get immersed, rather) and Saturday when I was babying my aching knee in hopes of getting a workout in on Sunday, I hit this mark every day!

Lots of wins for the week! That’s a great feeling after feeling this sense of unsteadiness with my eating and my workouts for the last couple of months. Between guilt about my weight gain and my neck injury, I got totally off kilter. It feels good to get back to “normal.”

The things that are helping are no-brainers, really.

  • I’m waking up earlier. If a workout isn’t done in the morning, it doesn’t get done.
  • I’m prepping lunches and dinners ahead of time (and pre-tracking!).
  • I’m loading up on fruits and veggies and water. Duh.

Veggie-full soupMy lunch this week will be this veggie-full chicken soup!

Why did those things, which seem so obvious now, fall off my radar? Who knows. I know it will be easy for me to fall out of these habits again if I’m not careful, so I’ll keep tracking everything and setting goals here every week so I can navigate summer temptations. I’ve got vacation and the temptation dairy free ice cream (a wonderful and dangerous discovery) to balance after all, along with weather that’s hot enough to make workouts seem like the worst idea EVER.

My goals for this week:

  • Make healthy choices at work dinners: I have two work dinners this week, as well as a breakfast/lunch out of town where I’m going to give a lecture. Restaurants are no excuse for bad choices. Lean proteins, veggies sides and coffee instead of dessert are all strategies I used before and can easily adopt again.
  • Fruit and veggies are my friends for my road trips: I’m driving down to Kansas City for the lecture I’m giving and will bring along fruits and veggies for snacking on the way. No need to just inhale grapes – I can mix in some sugar snap peas too.
  • Two running workouts: Up to nine intervals now! Woo hoo! I’m staying safe and sticking to the plan.
  • Thirty minutes a day: Trying again, with including the workouts in my schedule instead of relying on chance. Plan for success!

Wish us luck this week as we navigate the last week of kindergarten! Excitement is running HIGH in that classroom (poor teacher!) and it’s trickling over to lots of bad sleep for O at home.  Transitioning in and out of the structured school schedule is going to be a whole new challenge for us!

Thanks as always to Holly and Tricia (and Wendy!) for hosting our wrap ups!

Any big plans to kick off summer now that school is winding down?

Save

Wonder Woman!!

Anyone else kicking off summer with Wonder Woman? 🙂

12 responses to “Weekly Wrap Up: Slowly but surely!

  1. Jennifer @ Dashing in Style says:

    YAY! Great to see this positive and momentum. I feel the same about WW. Now that I’m in the groove, it feels so normal, and I can’t believe I stopped doing it for so long. I’m sure the honeymoon period will end, but for now it’s great. Good luck this week!

  2. Good luck with all your new goals! We’re down to one remaining “child” at home…but I remember those days of transition to summer, then transitioning back to the fall schedule. I kind of actually miss those days ;-(

  3. Wendy says:

    I am so glad to see you getting back on track–It’s pretty hard to get restarted, but the best thing is, you did. I’m always afraid to stop running or working out because I know that it’s tough to find motivation. Keep up the good work! You know the rewards are there!

  4. Coco says:

    I’m definitely on board with the morning exercise, because it doesn’t happen otherwise. Great job with your other goals too!

  5. Anna says:

    Love when Mighty Mo(mentum) gets on your side!! That soup looks delicious…ALL the veggies! Great idea to mix the grapes up with some veggies. I could eat sugar snap peas all day.

  6. Janelle @ Run With No Regrets says:

    Congrats on having a great week! I love keeping goals since it keeps me honest and accountable. I really need to do better about meal prep…it’s always my biggest struggle!

Leave a Reply

