A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Weekly Wrap-Up: Off the road for a bit . . .

on May 10, 2017

I’m finally done traveling for a bit! I don’t have a work trip until August (other than one overnight to Kansas City) and have done my duty with my family in Louisiana for a while. Last week was rough with travel to DC and then to Louisiana for the funeral! Food choices were abysmal, but let’s focus on the positive:

  • Lots of walking, including intentional walking time every day last week
  • Another run without any recurrence of my neck pain!

Park Honestly, heading out for a muggy little run in the park on the morning of the funeral was the best antidote to all of the crazy of last week. It was just the reminder I needed to get back into a healthier mindset now that I’m home and feeling like I’ve got a little space to breathe again.

This week, my food choices have already been better by leaps and bounds! I’ve restarted tracking with points on Weight Watchers, rather than the Simply Filling plan, and I’ve found it surprisingly easy (for all of three days) to get back into the habit of owning everything I’ve eaten. I’m not naive enough to think it will stay this easy, but for now, I’m going to celebrate every good day and try to string a few more of them together. I shouldn’t be letting things like stress and travel throw me off this much – for years I managed all of this! I think I’ve just gotten so much busier at work that I haven’t made the mental space to really deal with my eating and my weight. Here’s hoping that this week’s “new attitude” sticks around for a little longer so I can build some momentum.

Goals for this week:

  • Run X 2 (moving up to seven run intervals!)
  • Walk 30 minutes every day I don’t run (doing okay so far!)
  • Track everything I eat (even that sheet cake I ate but should have skipped yesterday)
  • Drink water! (Last week was all about the large Sonic Diet Dr Peppers)
  • Get my head back on straight. Emotionally, I’m fine with my grandmother’s passing. She was 80 years old and had a full life. I’m more worried about my mom dealing with all of the logistics, but that won’t require as much hands-on assistance from me or as much mental effort as it isn’t in my wheelhouse like the medical stuff was. I had a responsibility to “fix it” with the medical issues of the last month, but don’t feel the same need to do that with the legal and financial issues that are coming now. Other people can help with that. I need to focus on getting back on track at work, and most importantly, with my family.
  • Get reconnected with my family: I had lunch with O Monday, am going to field day on Friday and am spending the night in a hotel with O on Saturday night so we can have lots of time to cuddle, play and have room service. πŸ™‚ My kiddo loves hotels, so we’re going to celebrate Mother’s Day with just the two of us and no normal household responsibilities. O is super excited (as is Darrell, who also gets the weekend off in this deal!). I’m also planning a date night with Darrell next weekend, if we can arrange a babysitter.

What are your Mother’s Day plans? I’m mostly interested in someone else feeding me all day and doing ZERO chores all day.

Thanks as always to Holly and Tricia for hosting our link up!

 

Save

10 responses to “Weekly Wrap-Up: Off the road for a bit . . .

  1. Definitely some do-able goals there! Glad things are calming down a bit for you too. ((hugs))

  2. Sounds like you’ve really had a tough time. I sure hope things get back to normal for you.
    I love your idea of great quality time in a hotel! Sounds wonderful!
    Happy Mothers Day to you!

  3. HoHo Runs says:

    My sister and I went for a run on the morning of my Mother’s funeral (much to everyone’s horror!). We so enjoyed that run on the country roads around our childhood home. It helped us get through a very emotional and stressful day! I hope you have a wonderful Mother’s Day with O. Celebrating every good day sounds like a great plan. Thanks for linking, Jessica!

  4. Jennifer @ Dashing in Style says:

    Glad things are already starting to settle for you! Enjoy your Mother’s Day!

  5. Anna says:

    Whew! So glad you have a chance to stop and breathe. Love that you went running the day of the funeral…so therapeutic. You can do this and we are right here with you πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

