A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Weekly Wrap-Up: Crazy couple of weeks!

on April 19, 2017

Sorry for dropping off of the face of the earth for so long! After going to California for work, I immediately turned around to be on call for a week. I am so grateful this is my last week on call for a few months! It was a doozy. I was at work 12+ hours every day and every day, I’ve more than hit my step goal thanks to all of this literal running around I’m doing!
Bright spots

One day when I came home late, Oliver and Darrell were walking around the block. O raced me around the block to go home. 🙂

Not only is work crazy, we’ve also had a lot of family health stressors. The three of us are fine, but a dear friend’s father had a massive stroke, so I’ve been spending lots of time checking in with them and visiting the hospital. He’s improving, happily. My assistant’s mother died unexpectedly. I have no idea if I sent flowers to the right funeral. My grandmother and uncle got admitted to the hospital and while both are medically fine, it brought to a head a lot of elder care issues we’ve now got to tackle as a family. They’re both down in Louisiana and refuse to leave their town, but resources are really limited there. And we’re all hours away. Sigh. Now I’m heading down to help my mom sort things out.

In the midst of all of this, I’ve had a mix of good and bad days in terms of food. Honestly, exercise has also fallen off the radar other than my PT and all of the walking I’m doing at work. This week, I’m going to get back on track even with the emergency trip to Louisiana. However, it’s time to admit to myself that this is going to be HARD. I know it seems silly, but I don’t remember it being this hard the first time around when I cleaned up my eating and started exercising. I think it was because I was starting from such an unhealthy place, it was easy to see progress with small changes. I also had a calmer life back then – less work, less busy family. I have to admit that it is going to be hard and I’m not just going to “flip a switch” to get back to normal.

Baby steps are needed. I downloaded a habit tracking app and am tracking “eat sanely” – which I know is a super unspecific goal. However, at this point I just need to feel like I’m doing better and once I start to string more and more good days together, hopefully I’ll be able to make more specific changes.

The Flying Pig race weekend is also upon us. I’m going to try to do my last 8-9 mile walk this weekend, so hopefully I’ll be ready for that day. 🙂 It’ll be hard in Louisiana, but I’ll get as much as I can. After that, I’m going to get back to the Couch to 5K program and start some easy running again. My PT would prefer I avoid long/intense running for the first year after my injury to avoid the impact too much on my healing disc so I will definitely keep it at a slow walk-run.  As soon as registration opens, I’ll register for the Road to Omaha 5K they have here each June in conjunction with the College World Series. We all knowing having that race registration is a huge motivator for me!

Send me good vibes for travel to Louisiana today and sorting out the care issues for my family! My mom is so relieved I’m coming, so I know it’s the right thing to do, but selfishly, I’m dreading the travel and chaos when I’m already burnt out.
Best hubby everMy lovely hubby got me a Wonder Woman Pez for Easter. I wish I’d thought to bring it with me this week! I think I’m going to need her.

Anybody else feel like losing weight and getting healthy was harder the second time around?

2 responses to “Weekly Wrap-Up: Crazy couple of weeks!

  1. Margaret B says:

    Oh man, I’m sorry you are in such a crap space right now. Glad you are going to be there for your mom. And I love the race picture! My boys and I raced my sister home from school one time. We won, but only because the rule was whoever got to the door first won!

  2. Jennifer @ Dashing in Style says:

    It’s rough when problems happen all at once! I’m sure everyone has been grateful for your help, but I’m sure that’s taking a toll on you. Your tracking plan is a great one to start the process. Weight loss is so much harder the second time around! I’m going to do a post on this next week, but I’m dealing with the same thing.

Leave a Reply

