A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Weekly Wrap-Up: Back on Track!

on March 27, 2017

I finally feel like I’m starting to get back on track, after my post-marathon “rest” (that got a little too lazy!) and my poor neck injury. Let’s hope I can keep this momentum! The key, I know, is not to get carried away with myself and push too hard. A slow and steady approach is essential here.

So why am I so excited about how this week went?

    • I ran!! I got clearance from PT to try running again, no more than once or twice and only short bursts. She also said to keep it slow and keep it less than a mile. After three months without running, that was no problem. I was so excited to head out Friday morning for a short little run. I confess part of me wondered if I really wanted to run again – it is HARD after all – but I had so much fun Friday morning I know I won’t be giving up on running any time soon. ๐Ÿ™‚

Run!

  • I made the best of a day stuck inside: The PT warned me that I needed to take time off after trying to run, because the inflammation may not show up for a day or two. No running allowed Saturday since I ran Friday. I was also stuck inside due to rain and the fact that Darrell was out of the house to see Beauty & the Beast. Oliver was in his room grounded for the stealing and wall-coloring, so I decided to spend an hour dancing. Double win: Low impact movement AND drowned out the whining a bit. (Don’t worry – Oliver could also hear the music and was dancing in his room.)
  • I walked 6 miles for my Flying Pig training. I’ve gotta say – maintaining a “non-strolling” walking pace (17:30 min/mile) in my hilly neighborhood felt like more of a workout than I’ve had in ages!

Speaking of Flying Pig, I did some checking and they keep the finish line open even after they start closing the course, which is very back of the pack friendly. You also still get the finisher medallion. ๐Ÿ™‚ Definitely a bonus for someone who will likely be walking all of the 10K and 5K – and a motivation to have me stick with my training plan so that I can finish those 10 miles. Also a huge shout out to the Flying Pig staff for answering my email question about this so quickly!

I also did great with my strength training and PT this week, including learning to play cribbage with Darrell. My poor finger and thumb were so tired after that! I’m making a more concerted effort to use those fingers rather than work around them, which will hopefully get me back to normal soon.

Self-care was also a win this week. I treated myself to a morning at Beauty and the Beast (with a pot of tea – Alamo Drafthouse for the win at 9:15 am!) and a nice long nap with Oliver.
Naps!

All in all, a good week and I have a feeling this one will be good as well (despite the fact that it started with a 4 am wake up and a vomiting kid!).

Thanks as always to Holly and Tricia for hosting our wrap up! I’m glad to finally have something that looks more like a wrap up of workouts to report!

What’s in your emergency kit for stomach bugs? Darrell went out this AM to restock our Gatorade, Saltine crackers and Purell. ๐Ÿ™‚ Growing up, we always had ginger ale (or flat 7-up) and saltine crackers.

PS Made a small change to my Twitter handle (@littlemoreeach) to separate my personal and blog. I am so not adept at social media! Took way too long to make this change! Anyway, if you follow blog stuff on Twitter, be sure to follow @littlemoreeach.

10 responses to “Weekly Wrap-Up: Back on Track!

  1. Renรฉe says:

    GREAT news! so glad you could get out and RUN! I can imagine you still need to take it slow and be careful how you build up again. Seems like you had a great week, minus the vomiting kid. poor thing ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    we don’t have a stomach bug kit! I don’t even think we had one when the kids were little! Luckily we haven’t experienced it too much (but I am a step-mom so my chances of sick kids are not as often as full time parents!)!

    I will check your twitter! I’m @pinkypie in case you see me follow you ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Jennifer @ Dashing in Style says:

    Yay for running! I know that must have felt great! And great news that the Flying Pig is very back of pack friendly. The cherry blossom race I’m doing is not. Finish time is strict & they actually close the finish line at the cutoff time so you can’t even unofficially finish! It’s been stressing me out a bit, so I understand how nice it must be not to have to worry about that.

    • I’m still a little worried about it (especially finishing the 10K in time to get over to the start of the 5K before it starts!) but think I can handle it. I hope ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m glad the Cherry Blossom 10 miler went better than you thought!

  3. Yay for being able to run! Good to know about the walking of the Flying Pig! I’m glad they responded to you so quickly. Heck, I run so slow, I may be able to keep pace with your normal walk pace! ha!

  4. Coco says:

    Coca-Cola is my go-to for an unsettled stomach. And saltines. Hopefully I won’t need it any time soon!

  5. HoHo Runs says:

    My Mom always had Gingerale and Saltines too. When my kids were little, I had a doc tell me to only give them small sips of water until they stopped vomiting completely and then move on to something like Gatorade. Both seem to work. I’m so glad you’ve gotten the clearance to run. I’ve only heard great things amount Flying Pig. Maybe I’ll get there one day. Thanks for linking, Jessica!

Leave a Reply

