A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Weekly Wrap-Up: Good news!

on March 21, 2017

This is really about this week rather than last week, but too good not to share: the PT has cleared me to run again! Yay! It has to be small amounts of running – brief running intervals in the midst of walking and not super long distances, but it is a start. She said I have to be concerned not just for pain while I’m running, but also if it happens afterwards as the impact may cause inflammation. I’m totally on board with starting slow – I’m just relieved that I get to try starting again.

Parenting - ugh

This is why I asked the PT about running: after coming home from work Sunday, I found that Oliver had colored on his door. Sigh. In his defense, this is only the second time he’s ever colored on a non-approved surface. In defense of how frustrated this made me, he’s already in trouble for stealing in kindergarten for the second time in two weeks. I know all of this is age appropriate behavior and he’s learning how to be a rational human being. As a (not always rational) human being myself, I am worried I’m a failure as a mom and raising a kid who will grow up to a sociopath. Okay, not really – he’s generally great and I have expectations that are high. I REALLY wanted to go for a run yesterday when I noticed this. A walk helped, but it wasn’t quite the same.
Spring!

On the plus side, walking instead of running off my frustration left me the space to notice spring popping up everywhere around me. I need to do some cleaning out of my flowerbeds and garden this weekend so those tulips and hyacinths have space to grow!

Last week was chaotic at work and with parenting, but wins abound:

  • Healthy eating all week!
  • Did my PT exercises!
  • Got in lots of walking!
  • Cooked dinner!

I am SO excited to be cooking again. I still can’t chop as my fine motor control is hands still stinks, but I can do everything else. It just means I buy pre-chopped veggies for a while. My PT homework for my fine motor control was actually to start playing cribbage. Darrell loves new games, so it looks like we’ll be reintroducing game night to help me get back onto my feet (or hands as it were!).

That’s all I’ve got for today – short and sweet wrap ups when I’m not running much. 😦 This week, I’m planning on very easy reintroduction of jog intervals to two walks. I’m not going to get carried away. Plus, I’ve got to keep up my strength training and of course, learn cribbage. All interesting goals for the week! Recovery can be a strange process, can’t it?

Thanks as always to Holly and Tricia for hosting our link up! I hope you all have gorgeous weather on this first day of spring!

 

Save

Save

10 responses to “Weekly Wrap-Up: Good news!

  1. Coco says:

    So glad you are getting better! I used to know how to play cribbage. Mancala is another game I used to play all the time that might be good.

  2. Jennifer @ Dashing in Style says:

    Great news!!! Enjoy your return to running this week!

  3. Margaret B says:

    YAY for running!! That is awesome!!

    Oh kiddos. It is true, going for a run after a frustrating moment with them makes a difference. gLad you were able to at least go for a walk!

  4. Renee says:

    yay!!! I’m so glad you can start running again!

    Sorry you are having a few troubles with Oliver. Definitely doesn’t mean you failed as a mum!!! Kids are always trying to find their way, at all ages!

  5. Yay for the little things like cooking. Course for me that would be a bad thing as I only like to eat, leave the cooking to someone else. lol.
    I think Oliver is quite normal, they all go through this and how YOU handle it and let him be responsible for his own actions with consequences will truly make him into a fine member of society. I too had my doubts as how I could raise a responsible young adult. Thankfully she did not take my bad habits. πŸ™‚
    Super news on the running part! I know your very glad to get the good report!

Leave a Reply

