A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Weekly Wrap-Up: Walkin’ in Memphis

on March 14, 2017

Happy Tuesday! Anyone else really dragging in this first week post-time change? Ugh. I confess – it makes me glad that I’m not actively running and training right now, so I don’t have to drag myself out of bed early in the morning this week. On the drive to school Monday morning, Oliver complained to Darrell that “Mommy woke me up too early. It was still dark outside.” No kidding buddy.

I was in Memphis for work last week, starting early morning Thursday and getting back late Sunday. It was a fairly successful trip all in all. I resisted the conference snacks and my indulgences were well chosen. I confess, those indulgences included alcohol to make the networking easier, but weirdly I feel like the fact there were no French Fries and no pastries at the meeting mean I won.
Indulging

I treated myself to a green Bloody Mary before I headed back home. Counts as a vegetable right? I also got in lots of walking in the last week and feel like I’m making progress toward my goal of walking the 5K and 10K at Flying Pig weekend in May. My plan is to work my weekend long walk up by a mile at a time until I reach 8-9 miles. On the plus side, weeks on call (like this week!) are less of a training disruption while I’m walking instead of running because I can answer the phone while I’m on long walks easier than when I’m on long runs.

In my physical therapy, I’ve worked up to strength training. Woo hoo! My pain is mostly gone and my function is a lot better. I’m still weak, especially for anything that requires more than a few seconds of effort. My thumb and index finger are also still numb, but the neurosurgeon said that would be the last thing to return to normal. I’m just relieved that I’m relatively out of the woods in terms of surgery or more steroids! It is sort of funny to realize how weak I am now. The stretchy arm bands are tough and wall push-ups, which used to be laughably easy for me, are now a serious feat of strength!

Up for this week: 2-3 weekday walks, my PT strength exercises every day and a 4-5 mile walk this weekend. I also want to keep up that healthy-ish momentum I’ve got from making reasonably good choices in Memphis despite the work stress from being on call and the parenting stress of a 5 year old who is pushing his limits.
BoysExhibit A: The need to include (and label) his penis is a drawing in kindergarten for a story he wrote about swimming. Definitely a keeper for the photo box, right?

Good luck adjusting to the time change this week, especially for those of you waking up for early morning workouts!

Thanks as always to Holly and Tricia for hosting our link-up! Hope you lovely ladies had a great time hanging out together this weekend.

Save

8 responses to “Weekly Wrap-Up: Walkin’ in Memphis

  1. Jennifer @ Dashing in Style says:

    Oh my goodness! That drawing–LOL! Good plan for training to walk the races. Congrats on making good choices while traveling!

  2. Meg Berger says:

    Well, at least he did a good job spelling it. Aside from the extra e at the end, I am impressed.

    Sounds like you had a good week!

  3. Good week indeed! Glad the therapy seems to be helping and that the pain has reduced! Love the pic! Silly boy!

  4. HoHo Runs says:

    That swimming picture is hilarious! I’m glad things are looking better for you. I admire that you are staying healthy by replacing your running with walking right now. It’s about doing what you can — and you are nailing that! Thanks for linking, Jessica!

Leave a Reply

