A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Weekly Wrap-Up: Finding new ways to exercise

on March 6, 2017

Something about this crazy early spring has me feeling very optimistic today! That might also have something to do with the fact that I sweated a bit yesterday for the first time in WAY too long.
IMG_7296
No, I’m not running yet (despite being tempted yesterday) – I’ll wait until I’m cleared by my physical therapist to try that. However, I did make it a point to go for a walk every day last week include 3 miles yesterday where I really tried to push myself to see what my consistent “working” walk pace would be. Right now, I’m at 17:30 in my hilly neighborhood and definitely felt like I could have sped that up a bit. It was fun to sweat again and I definitely noticed that walking muscles are a little different than running muscles.

I think my plan to work on walking a 10K as close to the Flying Pig’s requested 16 minute miles is doable by the first weekend in May based on where I am now. I’m looking into walking-specific workouts to both help my pace pick up and also to keep things interesting. It’s hard to keep my effort up when walking and not let it devolve into a stroll.

I’ve been consistent with my physical therapy exercises to “improve my nerve mobility” every day and using the inversion table most days. The inversion table helps my back more than my neck, just due to the physics of it, but it’s definitely nice to stretch things out that way. As my nerve function returns, I suspect I’ll start doing some strength training with physical therapy. I’m not sure if my strength is getting better or if I’m just compensating for it better, but I’m definitely a lot more functional this week. I can now put on mascara again! (I had to stop for a while because I kept jabbing my eye)

I also actually cooked dinner for my family last night, which was so nice. I missed cooking and I know Darrell appreciated the night off. I made a recipe from our Blue Apron box that I confess I was a little wary of: a blackened chicken with an orange glaze served over rice with kale and citrus fruits. Kale and citrus aren’t things I’d typically combined. Turns out, it was delicious! I’ll have more on meal boxes later this week, as we’ve tried two different kinds of these now.
FullSizeRender(3)
Now that I’ve adjusted my goals for the Flying Pig marathon weekend, I’m working on adjusting my plan to get up to walking 9 miles so that I could potentially do both the 5K and 10K on Saturday. I did 3 miles this weekend and will work up to 9 miles. I have a feeling walking that much is going to feel very different than running that much! If I get to the point where I can run, I’ll start to mix in running with the walking so I can get to that 16 minute mile. I’m glad to have a motivation to get moving again!

All in all, my perspective on this whole nerve issue has shifted for the better. My pain is so much better – and frankly at a level I could live with if this is as good as it gets. I can write. I can type. I could cook! (Still probably no heavy chopping – don’t have that much fine motor control yet or strength) I get to explore a different kind of exercise. Yes, most of us walk every day, but I’ve never walked in a training plan. Even not running the half marathon in May has a silver lining: I get to be a full time marathon cheerleader for Meg, which will be a blast!! All in all, I’m grateful to be where I am.

Anybody else getting a more positive outlook on life now that spring approaches? I love that perk of springtime. šŸ™‚

Thanks as always to Holly and Tricia for hosting our link-up!

 

Save

Save

6 responses to “Weekly Wrap-Up: Finding new ways to exercise

  1. I’m glad to hear you’re feeling better! I’m not much of a winter fan, so I’m definitely in better spirits when spring is approaching.

  2. Angela says:

    Glad you are feeling better! that chicken looks AMAZING! I am so glad winter is coming to an end too! xo

  3. Jennifer @ Dashing in Style says:

    Great job making lemonade out of life’s lemons! Walking long distances is definitely a challenge, and it’s always good to have new challenges. Did winter come back to you today like it did for us?

Leave a Reply

