A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Weekly Wrap Up: On the mend

on February 27, 2017

Slowly, but surely things are better. Apologies in advance for typos as my right thumb still has a mind of its own . . .

This is a very different kind of wrap up than I hoped I’d be writing right about now. I was hoping to be able to tell you about a great week of running, the joy of getting back to some interval and hill work and how my first back to back runs on the weekend had gone. Instead, you get an update on my wonky cervical nerves.

Pluses:

  • It’s been interesting explaining to Oliver how the brain and spinal cord and nerves work. He’s got a better understanding of this than most kindergarten kids for sure. I had one kid argue with me during volunteering last week about my hand not working well enough to draw him a puppy because my hand looked just fine. Nerves are tricky things.
  • We’ve gotten a bunch of interesting stuff in our house over the last week, including an inversion table, new pillows and a table to use when I work on my laptop in bed.

Lots of little changes

    • Darrell and Oliver have taken fantastic care of me, including taking on all of the cooking and all of the household heavy lifting (literally, as I was told to avoid lifting). I even got breakfast in bed Sunday.

Taking care of mom

  • Most importantly, it’s getting better. I can move my hand and arm better and the pain is better (now mostly localized to my thumb and index finger). I haven’t had to take a second round of steroids and given how much better my function is, I think I’m out of the woods for surgery at the moment. Whew!

Minuses:

  • Speaking of steroids, I’m not liking my medication side effects. The pain medicine makes me sleepy and the steroids . . . let’s just say that a belt that fit a week ago didn’t even meet in the middle when I tried to wear it yesterday. Ugh. I know it’s just temporary bloating but it stinks.
  • No running. I’m not sure what exercise I can really do at this point other than walking and maybe the stationary bike, as I can’t jostle things and can’t put a load on my right arm. Thankfully, the pain doctor said the no running rule might be temporary. Once I’m fully recovered, I can try running again but if the pain recurs, I’m pretty much done with running. Boo.

This week, I’m really proud of a lot of things though.

  • Even though I can only walk, I went on walks. I didn’t let the pain and aggravation (a lot of frustration as much pain, truthfully) keep me moping inside. I can walk, and so I did, including a lovely walk with Oliver yesterday where we talked about all kinds of things.
  • Despite the steroids and the frustration, I ate really well this week. I drank a ton of water and made healthy food choices, despite a lot of work and a lot of doctors appointments and being one handed. Win!

 

I’m also really proud of my kid, in a big picture moment. I told this morning about the Oscars and asked what he would do if he were the La La Land team (read about this if you somehow haven’t heard!). He said “I’d be sad but we should give it to the people who won. I’d give it to them.” That felt like a huge win in the sharing category for a 5 year old. 🙂

Off to physical therapy now – this may be my workout of choice for a while! This, and hanging upside down.
Hanging
Thanks as always to Tricia and Holly for hosting our link up!

weekly wrap up

//embedr.flickr.com/assets/client-code.js

5 responses to “Weekly Wrap Up: On the mend

  1. Renee says:

    I’m glad things are going a wee bit better now! though I can imagine it’s frustrating to have side effects that you don’t really need in your life right now.

    I’m looking into getting an inversion table! I don’t want to have to keep getting shots (yep, steroids) in my back and I read a few stories about how people with similar issues with the L5-S1 pretty much never needed the shot again after getting the inversion table. Too good to be true? I’m willing to take a chance 🙂

  2. You certainly have a positive attitude and hey sounds like you have an amazing family who has stepped in and been there for you!!!
    Many people speak highly of this upside down training I’d love to hear your thoughts on how it’s doing !

  3. HoHo Runs says:

    I love your smiley egg breakfast in bed! That’s so sweet. It seems you have an awesome support crew and a fantastic positive outlook about the situation. I’m glad you were able to get outside for walks. Fresh air and exercise go a long way. It’s great you are improving and hopefully the surgery won’t be necessary. Just take it one day at a time and HANG IN THERE (literally!).

Leave a Reply

