A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Happy Valentine’s Day to Running

on February 14, 2017

Today’s Tuesdays on the Run topic is all about our love of running. As I’m working toward getting back to running, it’s good to remind myself WHY I haul myself out of bed on dark winter mornings. Thanks as always to Patty, Marcia and Erika for hosting our link up!

ToTR logo

My dear running, I love what you do for my legs and my heart and my lupus. Every time I notice my leg muscles as they walk up hills or stairs or run through mile after mile, I’m grateful for running because I know that’s where those workhorses were developed. Every morning I don’t take blood pressure medication, I’m grateful for running, which I suspect had as much to do with normalizing my blood pressure as weight loss did. The last few weeks, with my lupus flaring, I remind myself that my best lupus days are the days I run for an hour or more. It really makes a huge difference in my symptoms (once I get them settled down enough that I can get out to run!).

I love that you reward my efforts with shiny new medals, which make me smile every time I see them.
Did it!!
I love that you’ve given me an excuse for spending hours alone, which this introvert adores.

I love that you’ve given me a way to play with my son that’s fun and healthy for both of us.

These are possibly my favorite race photos ever!

These are possibly my favorite race photos ever!

I love that you’ve given me a whole new view of myself. The fact that Oliver said his mom was Supermom while I was running my marathon meant everything to me. Running, you’ve taught me that I can do anything.

I love that you’ve added days to my life and quality to those days. I know I’m a healthier, happier person because of you.

Thanks running. I’ll leave your card and chocolates on the doorstep. 🙂

Why do you love running (or tennis or Crossfit or whatever your workout of choice might be)?

 

 

Save

6 responses to “Happy Valentine’s Day to Running

  1. christyruns says:

    Running is the best! It is always teaching me things about myself. I love that your son called you Supermom… so awesome.

  2. Love this! I have a pretty severe degree of scoliosis and I love that running has given me an avenue to build strength and stamina that keeps me from giving in to the discomfort of the disease. If I can endure the pain of miles and miles of running, I can endure anything.

  3. Anna says:

    One of the best Valentine’s posts I have EVER read. May you two have many more happy years together 🙂

Leave a Reply

