A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Weekly Wrap-Up: A little better, day by day

on February 13, 2017

I took this week a little easier, intentionally this time, and I think it is helping. I focused on rest and healthy foods and not on the workouts I was missing. Now, thankfully, my joints are settling down a bit. Rest and stress management are key in managing my lupus. This doesn’t mean there were no workouts though, promise!

Tuesday, I ran hills and remembered how much I love a hill workout: tough enough that you feel like you “worked” and you can squeeze them in even when time is tight. Awkward workout moment: I was listening to the audiobook of The Hundred Foot Journey. There was a section that described, in fairly vivid detail, the butchering of a hog. I am a country girl. I’ve seen animals slaughtered. I’ve seen how the sausage gets made. Somehow, listening to it described in my ears while I was trying to run was too much. I was literally gagging on the side of the road. Sigh. Thank goodness it was dark.

Saturday, I spent 45 minutes bouncing at a trampoline facility for my graduate student’s birthday party. Lots of steps and raised heart rate according to the Garmin (and my sore legs afterwards). TMI warning – Not the best activity for a 38 year old who has had a baby. Ugh. We’ll subtract that frantic bathroom break from my workout time.

Sunday, I got in a couple of miles of hilly walking at the zoo with my guys. All in all, it was a very active weekend.

Zoo
I also spent some time this weekend reworking my training plan for the spring, which helped me feel a little less like I was “behind” in my training for the Flying Pig marathon weekend. I find the guilt of “failing” with my training plan to be a HUGE burden of stress so this reworking has me feeling much, much better. I’ve got plenty of time to get trained for the race weekend, using a modified version of the plan I used this fall for back to back half marathons.  Today, my hands and elbows are the least painful they’ve been in two weeks, so I’m hopefully I get some more miles in this week to ease back on track for training.
Way too excited for this

I also got in some quality time with O, with a breakfast date and Target trip prior to Lego Batman. We are big fans of Lego Batman and O insisted on this pic at Target, even though you can’t seem him back there at all. 🙂 In addition to making time for eating better (going well!) and exercising (easing back into it!), I need to make a conscious effort for quality time with O. I work a lot for my family, both in my job and in keeping our house moving, but that’s not the same as these times where the two of us just focus on each other. That’s good for both of us.

This week, I’m on call, so probably no runs, but I can 1) meditate every morning, 2) hit the Garmin’s step goal every day and 3) eat healthy foods despite my crazy schedule. This weekend, I want to run some (doesn’t matter how much) Saturday and 4 miles on Sunday so that I can be ready for a real schedule starting again soon.

Thanks as always to Holly and Tricia for hosting our link-up! This week, I’m grateful for baby steps. What are you grateful for today?

weekly wrap up

PS – I’m also glad for this: Lin Manuel Miranda’s Galentine’s Day playlist. Definitely downloading these to get me through this week on call!

PS #2 – Know what helps with rest? Watching the Great British Bakeoff Masterclass episodes, which I adore but which also put me to sleep. Something about Paul and Mary explaining cakes has me yawning within minutes. 🙂

Save

8 responses to “Weekly Wrap-Up: A little better, day by day

  1. Aww hope you feel better asap! Sounds like a great week though despite the flair up! (HUGS)

  2. Meg B says:

    I can see the Paul and Mary putting me right to sleep. Except I have a teeny crush on Paul so I might have weird dreams.
    Sounds like a good week for you!

  3. HoHo Runs says:

    Oh my! I can see how listening to the details of a hog being slaughtered would be hard to run to. Good job this week with easing off and letting your body rest. I’ve heard so many great things about Flying Pig. Have you run in that before? I haven’t been to the trampoline park yet. Thanks for the warning. LOL. Thanks for linking, Jessica!

  4. You know what puts me to sleep at night? Scrolling Instagram I don’t know why but it sure does! I want to go to one of the jumping parks I lived on the trampoline when I was a kid!

Leave a Reply

