A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Weekly Wrap-Up: Still on the lupus learning curve . . .

on February 7, 2017

For the most part, I forget about the lupus. Nowadays, I’m used to the constant ache and the fatigue. They’re just my baseline. Frankly, I suspect that’s the baseline of lots of overworked moms. And non-moms. I tend to forget the lessons I’ve learned about what tips things over into “noticeable” territory with lupus. Last week, I got reminded. I told you on Friday that I’d had a lot of food successes over the week with my work trip and that’s true. I made reasonable choices for the most part and came home feeling tired but successful.

Healthy travel food choices

Did I meet all of my goals? Nope – I didn’t get any runs in because I was just too tired and decided not to push it in this “warm up” week of my spring training. The social and professional networking at these meetings just drains me and I recognized that if I did too much, I’d set myself back more than those two runs were worth.

However, I apparently forgot about the wisdom of not overdoing things when I got home. I got home and immediately turned around to a day in which I had a 6:30 am meeting, work all day, lovely break for a facial in the afternoon (yay!) and then work all evening until I rushed out to grab dinner with Darrell for his birthday and then pick up O at parents night out. Oliver and I packed in a mad dash so we could leave early in the morning Saturday for Darrell’s birthday gift: a weekend to himself. Oliver and I left the house at 7 am Saturday morning and didn’t come back until 3 pm Sunday. I never actually unpacked from the work trip – just reloaded the bag with his stuff on top of mine. We had lots of great mother-son bonding time, including some pool time together, games, decorating a Valentine’s day box, food at our favorite places and movies cuddled in the hotel room bed. He wanted to sleep in the bed with me, which meant I got kicked and poked all night long (SPIDER MONKEY!). However, he seems like he’s in a much better place after that so it was worth the bad sleep (mostly). I need to make a conscious effort to have some one-on-one time when I get home from these work trips. Among other things, learning what he thinks is funny was incredibly enlightening. And entertaining.

Bonding time

Between the bad sleep and the fact that I somehow lost track of taking any of my lupus meds through this crazy Friday-Saturday-Sunday, I was in bad shape by Sunday night. Last week’s plan of four runs including back-to-back runs on the weekend? Ha. I did get in one run on Saturday, which felt good, but that was it. Oh, and that healthy eating on my work trip? Let’s not even talk about what happened over the weekend . . .

Now, I pick myself up, dust myself off and start again. It’s just the beginning on my training plan – screwing up the “warm up” week isn’t catastrophic so there’s no need to dwell on that. I refilled my pill box because I need those meds. I got some sleep. And some more sleep. I got back on my meditation pillow Monday morning. I ate whole, healthy foods all day yesterday. I ran hills today.

I am taking it one day at a time. I can’t beat myself up for last week. I just learn from it and move on. Also, lupus still sucks.

How was your week? What’s your favorite back-on-track workout? I really loved the hills this morning – you can squeeze in a hill workout even when time is short and feel like you got some quality work done before your day starts!

 

Thanks as always to Tricia and Holly for hosting our link up! Check out everyone else’s week (which were hopefully more successful than mine!)

weekly wrap up

10 responses to “Weekly Wrap-Up: Still on the lupus learning curve . . .

  1. Marcia says:

    Jessica is the Lupus dx new? I didn’t know. Sorry to hear this. The babysitter we used for years was dx’d with Lupus when she was 12. She’s in her late 20’s now. It’s been a rollercoaster for her but she’s doing well now. I ran the Chicago Marathon on the Lupus Charity team. : )
    Lupus does suck Hang in there. xo

  2. Meg B says:

    Oh man, that sucks about the pain. Glad you had a wonderful weekend with the kiddo and a good bday weekend with for Darrell (I will have to keep that present in mind for J).

    For some reason, my posts don’t let me post under my regular blog name, but this is Meg from LLLI.

  3. I have fell into a habit of just running and not trying so much for certain paces and all or the variation of things like hills. I got to get back on track with variety.

  4. HoHo Runs says:

    How fun for you and O to have a weekend together. But, I’m sorry the lupus reared its ugly head. It sounds like you are back on track taking it one day at a time. That’s all any of us can do. You are right — missing your warmup week is no big deal. Getting some extra rest is what you needed anyway. Thanks for linking, Jessica!

  5. As a person with lupus I understand the struggle of a “baseline” still sucking! Keep writing, keep working towards your goals ❤ -Talia

Leave a Reply

