A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Weekly Wrap-Up: Cruising to Recovery

on January 16, 2017

Nothing like returning from this:
Relaxing

To an ice storm in Omaha that has us stuck inside for goodness knows how long. The whole city is essentially shut down today and they’ve already cancelled O’s school for tomorrow. Gotta love winter – although give me snow any day over this ice nonsense!

Last week was all about recovering from the marathon and enjoying my first real kidless vacation since Oliver was born and not so much about workouts, so there won’t be much workout recapping this week. Mostly, I walked gently and slowly around the cruise ship and looked funny every time I got out of a chair for the week. The only workout I did was the 5K on Castaway Cay, Disney’s private island, on Wednesday. Wow did that hurt! A full recap is coming, in case they continue doing these challenges and anyone else wants to know how it works, but for now I will just say that it was the most painful 5K of my life. Turns out, even if your legs are feeling good enough to walk and take the stairs, running (even at turtle pace) two days after your first marathon HURTS.
Castaway Cay challenge

However, that Castaway Challenge medal is gorgeous so it’s worth it, right? Right. I spent the week eating and drinking too much, reading (LOTS of reading!) and taking naps. It was glorious!
Cruising

Now, I’m back in the real world. I’m ready to get back to moving, even if I’m not training for anything or doing anything strenuous for a while. I’m planning on at least 150 minutes of exercise this week, with some walks (once the ice clears!), yoga and maybe hopping on the exercise bike.

We’re also getting ourselves back on regular eating after the cruise. In January’s Cooking Light, there was a 3 day reset menu that has been a lifesaver for these first few days back home! It feels good to get back to healthier eating (for me anyway – Darrell caved after less than a day). After that cruise, I don’t need any desserts or alcohol for the rest of the month. 🙂
Tuna quinoa toss

After all of my stressing, Oliver did great without us for a week! I think he’s enjoying this ice storm though, and getting lots of extra Mom & Dad time to make up for us being gone. I suspect part of the reason he didn’t miss us is that Nana had a scavenger hunt with a new present for him every day after school. Nana’s are meant for spoiling, right?

I promise next week I’ll more fitness to report! I’m working on my marathon recap, to post later this week, and on the Castaway Challenge details.

Thanks as always to Tricia and Holly for hosting our link-up!

weekly wrap up

How did you ease back into workouts after your first big athletic endeavor? I only took a week off running after the back-to-back half marathons this fall, but think the marathon deserves at little more than that. That doesn’t mean I can’t move in other ways though!

Save

10 responses to “Weekly Wrap-Up: Cruising to Recovery

  1. Sounds like an ideal recovery week! Napping, reading, enjoying the food and drink–perfect! I give you credit for running a 5k two days later! I’d have walked! Be safe in the ice storm. It’s been in the news today.

  2. Swimst0807 says:

    Sounds like a fun vacation! I never take enough time off after a marathon, but sometimes you just need to relax and have some fun!

  3. Marcia says:

    A post marathon cruise sounds absolutely perfect to me! Glad you enjoyed. I can’t even remember the last kidless vacay we’ve been on together. It’s been awhile.

  4. I”m so dang jealous how great is this recovery vacation after a marathon! You sure did it right! One day I’m gonna do a Disney Cruise! I hope anyway!
    Getting back to reality is hard enough without all the cold weather!

  5. HoHo Runs says:

    The cruise sounds like the perfect way to recover from the marathon. I’m so impressed you ran that 5k!! The medals are beautiful. Four days in the Disney parks? Not the best idea. I think I’m recovery more from that than from the marathon itself. I’m so glad you had a great first marathon experience and that Oliver did well at home. I knew Nana would come through! (Go Grandmas! LOL). Thanks for linking, Jessica!

    • Four days in the park definitely requires recovery time! We’re going to the parks in June and I’m kind of looking forward to enjoying them without worrying about my legs being tired from a race or saving my legs for a race. 🙂

Leave a Reply

