A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Weekly Wrap-Up: Marathoner!!

on January 9, 2017

What a week! First off, I had EXACTLY the marathon race I trained for and it was a fantastic time:
Did it!!I’ll post a full recap when we get back from the cruise, but for now, let me say there were happy tears and a great mental race. Also, lots of awkward hobbling in the aftermath which is entertaining my husband a lot. πŸ™‚ Truly, knowing you all were cheering for me was SO powerful and part of those happy tears. Thanks so much for supporting me through this!

Brief fly through of the rest of the week: Coming up to the race, my focus was on sleep (sort of successful), drinking well, eating well (pretty good! Remembered that French fries aren’t ideal carb loading) and running enough to keep moving. I didn’t worry about mileage targets but tried to shake things out.Β 

Weekly WorkoutsΒ 

Monday – Walking and stretching (and the movie Moana – which we loved! Downloaded the soundtrack for race day!)

Tuesday – Easy run with pickups (but oh so cold!)

Wednesday – Even colder easy run, which made me REALLY grateful that I wasn’t running 26.2 in January in Nebraska. Brrr!!

Thursday – No running because of unexpected overnight snow, but snow shoveling Thursday morning was workout enough.Β 

Friday – Early morning wake up for our flights, with airport walking, expo walking and walking from the Polynesian to the Grand Floridian for dinner. Darrell was amazed at how much walking there was at the Expo – he was over 10,000 steps between the airport and the expo and we did the bare minimum at the expo with no shopping!

Saturday – Lots of rest and reading (and an early bedtime!). As you’ve all heard, the half marathon got cancelled because of the storm (and there was thunder, so it sounds like they made the right call). Loads of people got out to run anyway and we had a great view of lots of costumed runners from our room in the Polynesian. I love the dedication!

Half marathoners

Sunday – Race day! I promise a full recap will come next week, after the cruise. For now, I’ll just say that as soon as Mickey counted down 3, 2, 1 and our fireworks went off, a little voice inΒ  my brain said “I’ve got this” and I carried that with me for 26.2 miles. Well, 26.92, because I’m bad at running tangents apparently. It was a great experience, even if my feet feel broken today. πŸ™‚

We're off!

We celebrated after the race with an early dinner at Sanaa, which I highly recommend for the mango margarita and bread service alone (although the butter chicken was also divine!).

Sanaa to celebrate
Now, we’re off for some grown up vacationing on the cruise. Oliver is having a fantastic time with Nana and I’m riding that post-marathon high, so hopefully I’ll be able to relax and enjoy these next few days away from responsibility. πŸ™‚

I’m so grateful I had the opportunity to run this marathon and for the rest that’s in my future. Thanks so much to all of you for your support through this journey!

Thanks as always to Holly and Tricia for hosting our link-up! I can’t wait to hear all about Holly’s race and her shiny new PR! Congrats Holly!

weekly wrap up

If you were one of the half marathoners with a cancelled race, would you have run it anyway? I think I might have it were my first and there were others out doing the make up run or if it was part of one of the challenges. If I was just here for the half marathon and had done HMs before, I might have taken the chance to have the day off in the parks, I confess. πŸ™‚

Save

17 responses to “Weekly Wrap-Up: Marathoner!!

  1. Congrats on your marathon!! I was supposed to do the half Saturday, I was totally bummed this would have been number 4 for me and it’s always been a bucket list item to run Disney. I did get out after the storm and got in 4 miles and made my way over to Magic Kingdom to celebrate. I was with two other girls, one who had run countless half marathons and another who would have ran her first. She was definitely the most bummed but we all deferred to run next year!!!

  2. Congratulations! We are so proud of you!

  3. Glad to hear you had a great race! It is so nice when all the hard training reflects on you race. Awesome medal!

  4. I am so glad you had such a positive race day experience! Can’t wait to read the recap! Enjoy the cruise! -M

  5. Glad to hear the race went well!!! Congrats!!!! (and, yes, I would have run the 13.1 with the rest of the others) πŸ˜‰

  6. Congratulations! I’m glad everything went well for you. I hadn’t heard the half got canceled. I’m running a half in all 50 states so for me that would have been a major let-down. I probably would have still run it.

  7. YOU DID IT! Congratulations to you and welcome to the club lady! Man I have to say that medal this year is just freaking awesome! Hope you enjoyed your cruise too! What a way to recover !!!

  8. Jennifer @ Dashing in Style says:

    YES!!!! I’m not surprised because I knew you’d do great, but I was so happy to read this. Congratulations! You deserve it!!!

Leave a Reply

