A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Five Goals for Marathon Recovery

on January 6, 2017

It’s finally here! Marathon weekend!

Here!

This week, it struck me that in all of my focusing on the race and on getting things ready for O and my mom, I haven’t considered what I will do AFTER the race. I did some reading and came up with 5 goals for marathon recovery:

1: Refuel – That doesn’t just mean the banana and Powerade at the finish, but continuing to support my poor abused muscles over the next few days with high quality carbs, proteins and fruits and veggies for the antioxidants to help with all of that inflammation. I’m going to be on a cruise for the first four days post-race, so naturally there will be some indulgences, but I need to get some healthy stuff in too. 

2: Rehydrate – Yes, I’ll be drinking on the course but I can’t possibly drink as much as I’ll be sweating out without seriously upsetting my stomach, so in addition to the pre-hydrating I’ve been doing this week, I’ll need to make sure I’m getting lots of fluids after as well (and not just fruity, boozy beverages on the cruise!). 

3: Rest – I’ve always heard that you should take a day of “rest” for every mile after a race like this, so I’d be looking at 3-4 weeks off from hard runs after my first marathon. I mapped out training for my next big running event on my first flight today and I’ve got plenty time to recover from the marathon before I have to start that training plan. Rest doesn’t mean no movement at all, of course. I’m planning on walks and yoga and easy runs that I ease into after the race. Small exception: I will be doing the 5K on the cruise as part of the Castaway Cay challenge. However, I’ll be taking that run very slow and easy, I promise.  I suspect I won’t have a choice with post-marathon legs. 

Castaway Cay

4: Reflect – I’ve got one running event on the schedule after this, but otherwise I haven’t really settled on what I want 2017 to be for my running life. So much of the last year has been consumed by thinking about and training for this marathon. I’m not sure what I want to come next but I’m planning to spend some time on the cruise reflecting on last year so I can set intentions for the new year. 

5: Rejoice! No matter how Sunday goes, I am going to rejoice in all my body and mind have done to get to this point. 

 

Friday Five 2.0

Conveniently, my to do list was 5 items, so I’ll be linking up with Meranda, Lacey and Rachel for Friday Five! Thanks as always for hosting!

Any special marathon recovery rituals you swear by?

Save

Save

6 responses to “Five Goals for Marathon Recovery

  1. Rachel says:

    Good luck! Have a great race!!

  2. Jennifer @ Dashing in Style says:

    Good luck and enjoy the experience as much as you can–you only have a first marathon once! I’ll be cheering for you–you’re going to do great!

  3. Yes, you will rejoice indeed! Have fun at the marathon and so cool you get to do the Castaway Cay 5K

Leave a Reply

