A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

2016: Year in Running

on December 27, 2016

This has been a roller coaster of a year. Today, the little girl is me is a more than a little heartbroken about Carrie Fisher’s death. As a girl, she amazed me as a totally different kind of princess. Princess Leia was tough and smart and brave – so different from your average Disney Princess. I appreciated that role and her performance in that role more and more as I grew up. As an adult, I respected her advocacy for the role of women in society (I LOVE her response to a dad complaining about the bikini scene here!) and for support of mental health services. Hers was a voice I enjoyed and that will be missed.

Personally, 2016 has been a year of big professional successes, lots of new stresses in the world, continuing on the lupus learning curve and of course, lots of running miles. Those miles have come with their own ups and downs.

– I’ve learned that I can do a lot if I keep putting one foot in front of the other. I can run 20 miles in marathon training. I can run back to back half marathons in the I-35 challenge. I can keep running in a race when I know I’m nowhere near my target times.
Success!

– I met a few of my running and fitness goals for 2016, by running the I-35 challenge, hiking Pulpit Rock (definitely a highlight of my year!) and generally keeping running. It still amazes me that I’m still “a runner,” now four years into this adventure. I also met one of my 2015 goals by volunteering at a local race.

Obligatory selfie

– I’ve embraced races as training runs. I used several half marathons in my marathon training and really liked the camaraderie, the distractions, the prepping of the course and water stops and of course, the bling at the end! Of course, I’m worried that the fact that I was taking these races “easy” because they were training runs has dulled my “racing edge” (whatever that is for a back of the packer) and I won’t feel that jolt of adrenaline I need to finish 26.2 miles in 12 days. (12 days!!)
Waiting for medals!Ready for a marathon medal!

– I missed some goals too. I never trained for that faster 10K. I definitely didn’t PR the Papillion Half Marathon. This year, I’ve gotten slower than I’ve ever been. Speed hasn’t really been my focus. I think, like Patty discussed, that having so much on my plate professionally and with the focus on so much distance between the back-to-back half marathons and the marathon have both distracted me from pushing my pace. I also fell off the strength training wagon yet again. It’s a miracle (knock on wood!) that I’ve stayed injury-free so far in marathon training given that! Like all “failures,” these are definitely a trigger for some self-examination and learning as I look to next year and post-marathon life.

Ultimately, all of these ups and downs are things to learn from and to build upon. I’ll be spending the next few days contemplating my goals for next year, especially as I’ll be looking at post-marathon life. I suspect next year is going to focus on things a little shorter and a little speedier after surviving the marathon.

Thanks as always to Patty, Erika and Marcia for hosting our link up!
ToTR logo

How was your year in running?ย Anybody else feeling ready to be done with 2016 and on to 2017?

10 responses to “2016: Year in Running

  1. Oh yes, I’m ready for a new year ๐Ÿ˜‰ I’m gonna focus on fun in 2017…too much attention to potential PR’s (and my stupid watch) has left me frustrated. Onward! Good luck at your marathon!!

  2. I found that heavy mileage and back to back races has definitely slowed me down too. Good luck on your marathon!

  3. WHEW, what a year in running and in life for you. TWELVE DAYS?!?!? THAT IS AWESOME!!!

  4. Janelle @ Run With No Regrets says:

    Congratulations on a great year! Sure, we may not reach all of our goals, but it’s still great to look back at all we accomplished. I became a marathoner this year and I’m still so proud, though I don’t know what to do next! I may need to think about using races as training runs…seems to work well for a lot of people!

  5. Jennifer @ Dashing in Style says:

    Congratulations on accomplishing major goals and learning just how strong you are. Those are sure to be a great foundation for more awesome things in 2017, starting, of course, with your marathon!

Leave a Reply

