A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Weekly Wrap-Up: Five weeks to go!

on December 5, 2016

Yikes! Five weeks until I run a marathon! That makes the fact that I did exactly ZERO running for the last seven days a little nerve wracking. I keep reminding myself that I built this into my training plan, knowing that I have a hard time running when I’m on call. Last week was killer. I worked 12-13 hours every day and only made it home for bedtime one weekday. It was physically and mentally exhausting. My NSV is definitely the fact that I didn’t binge eat or even make too many bad choices despite the fact that I was crazy busy. It’s a relief to be done and I’m looking forward to getting back to workouts. 🙂

My boys are the bestI am so grateful for my guys. Darrell and Oliver bought me flowers on Sunday while I was working because they knew I was having a rough week. Oliver also picked up some new Christmas earrings for me with little jingly bells that made me smile all afternoon. I’m a lucky girl!

Speaking of Oliver, I have to tell you guys what he wants for Christmas:
Crazy Christmas

Seriously. Thank goodness Santa found where she could order just one of these, although my local Village Inn offered to give us one, complete with jellies.

Not much to report on the workout front last week, but this week is back to the grindstone. I’ve got four runs this week, with a long run of 12 miles on the weekend and then my 20 mile run coming next week. I’m looking at my schedule to make sure I can get these last two long runs done all in one chunk because I really feel like it is going to be key mentally to have that under my belt here at the finish.
Perfect snow!I’m going to have to work around this stuff. Thankfully, Omaha is pretty good about de-icing most of the time and I love running in snow. I have lots of winter layers! I confess, I’m glad to see the snow because now it really feels like Christmas.

Hopefully everyone else had a more active week than I did! Thanks as always to Holly and Tricia for hosting our link up!

weekly wrap up

7 responses to “Weekly Wrap-Up: Five weeks to go!

  1. Jennifer @ Dashing in Style says:

    I can’t believe it’s only 5 weeks until your race! We haven’t had any snow accumulation yet. I’m ready for the snow too! Had to laugh about O’s Christmas gift!

  2. Gosh it will be here before you know it! Yes don’t fret over not running this week, you’ve done a great job in training and I think it will help you out in the long run. Take care and Happy Holidays!

  3. HoHo Runs says:

    I would be exhausted after working those long days! I’m pretty much there by 3 pm every day. LOL. You’ll be fine with your marathon training. It’s good to have the little breaks to aid recovery anyway. I love it that O asked for jelly. You should write Smuckers and tell them. I bet they’d hook you up for life! Good luck with your remaining training weeks. It IS getting close. Thanks for linking, Jessica!

Leave a Reply

