A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Friday Five: Gifts to Myself

on December 2, 2016

What a week! It’s been a doozy here, with long days and lots of stress for me and my staff. This afternoon, when I went to refill my coffee at 3 (bless Crane Coffee and free refills!), I got everybody else drinks too. It’s a little thing, but definitely a morale boost after a rough week.
Coffee

I’m nearing the end of this tough week, but the holidays never slow down, so I spent some mental energy today thinking of the things I’m going to gift myself to help make the holiday season a little less stressful.

1 – Guilt free time to catch up! As we speak, I’m sitting in my quiet office, catching up on lots of email and little nagging tasks that I haven’t had time to get to this week. I’ve got Christmas music on and zero mom- or wife-guilt since Darrell’s at a party I wasn’t invited to for his job and Oliver is at his daycare’s parents night out enjoying pizza and movies. It’s amazing how soothing this little moment of time is for my brain, even if I am technically hanging out working at 7 pm on a Friday night.

2 – Breakfast with Oliver: Tomorrow, I’ll have breakfast with Oliver. I know I just said I’m enjoying a couple of hours off duty from mom-guilt tonight, but I also miss the time with my kiddo. I’ve missed dinner and bedtime most of the week because work has been so nuts, so knowing that he and I will be able to use our usual breakfast date to chat and catch up is so nice (knock on wood that call doesn’t interfere!).

3 – Shoes (and other little literal gifts to myself): When I’m stressed, I shop or eat. Since I’m trying not to stress eat, I find myself taking advantage of holiday sales for me too. I bought myself cute new pajamas and these funky little shoes from a J Crew Factory sale. It’s amazing how much they make me smile (and they’re comfy!).
Fun new shoes

4 – Cooking class! In addition to buying a couple of new physical things, I’ve been on the lookout for an experience to gift myself too. I signed up for a class at a new place near my house that does cooking lessons. We’re making a Christmas brunch-themed menu which should be fun. I’ll learn a couple of new recipes, plus have some wine and yummy food – wins all around! I’ll be sure to give you guys a full report!

5 – Holiday music: I always get a couple of new CDs for Christmas music and this year, I think as a reflection of how chaotic life has been lately, I chose soothing CDs from Amy Grant and Idina Menzel. I particularly like the Idina Menzel because I imagine that Elsa (Frozen) is singing to me. 🙂

Do you find gifts for yourself during the holidays? I highly recommend it, even if it is just five minutes to yourself with a cup of tea.

Please be sure to check out the rest of the Friday Five link up  at Running on Happy and Fairytales and Fitness.

Friday Five 2.0

Save

Save

2 responses to “Friday Five: Gifts to Myself

  1. I love your gifts to yourself. I agree with you on the shoes. Shoes are ALWAYS a great present to oneself!

Leave a Reply

