A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Weekly Wrap-Up: Thanksgiving (and 18 miles!) survived!

on November 29, 2016

As much as I love visiting family and all of the other stuff that goes along with Thanksgiving, it does feel a bit like something you survive, doesn’t it? Thankfully, we had smooth and easy travel (a holiday miracle!) and Oliver loved getting to see his family. It may take my stomach a little longer to recover from all of the unhealthy food and my body longer to catch up on sleep, but it was worth it.
Gingerbread men

We decorated gingerbread men at my sister’s house and started putting up holiday decorations here at our house, so it’s definitely starting to feel  like Christmas. This is a time of year where we just fly from one “big thing” to another. Throwing a couple of really big runs in there as I finish up marathon training (5 1/2 weeks until the race!) definitely adds to the schedule. Thankfully I was able to shuffle my schedule around to get my 18 miler done in the midst of Thanksgiving chaos, so now I just have a 20 miler to go. It still sort of blows my mind that 18 and 20  mile runs have become part of my workout dialog!

Workouts

Monday Rest day, with just some walking. I did 12 miles on Sunday and knew I had 18 miles coming Tuesday, so I took it easy Monday and just tried to stretch things out.

Tuesday 18 miles, with awful weather. I took off a couple of hours early on Tuesday so I could do my 18 miles before the Thanksgiving holiday. While you’d think a 4 day weekend would make it easier to get a long run done, it really didn’t in my case since we were traveling. Unfortunately, it was cold and rainy. Even walking across campus in the cold and rain earlier in the day made my poor hands get sore and swollen, which was definitely concerning. Stupid lupus. I spent the whole day watching the weather and trying to decide what to do. When I got home, it was drizzly but not awful so I got dressed to head outside. I opened the door, hit the sidewalk and the sky opened up. It was raining so hard you couldn’t see. Sigh. I gave up. There are definitely perks to running in the rain (especially since this could happen on race day), but it would be a safety risk to run in visibility that bad and the damp and cold would flare my lupus so much I’d be useless the rest of the week. I didn’t have time to wait for it to clear, so I headed in to change and hit the gym. I decided to commit to only listening to my audiobook, like I would on a normal long run, rather than watching a movie, to at least replicate the mental aspect of 18 miles outside. I ran 17 miles on a treadmill you guys. It’s amazing what happens when you just keep going (and when your gym has enough treadmills so no one minds you tying one up for hours). I did my run / walk intervals I’d use on the road, fueled like I would  on the road and took the opportunity to test out the new tank I’m considering for race day assuming Florida is warm. I also maintained a pace about a minute faster than my 15 and 16 mile long runs had been, which was ego soothing. I stopped at 17 miles to go home to give Oliver hugs and kisses for bedtime. I feel like I deserve an extra medal for heading back out in the rain after than 30 minute break to get that last mile – and even more so for running it rather than just walking it to finish my miles for the day! I won’t lie – after stopping for a little time in the car, I was stiff, but I did it! Thank goodness it was dark and rainy and no one could see my shuffling. 🙂

Wednesday Amazingly, I felt fine! My body has held up well to these long runs. I was only occasionally stiff if I sat for very long. Lots of walking today, with work and packing, that ended up in a pleasantly uneventful flight down to Houston. I was a naughty mom and took the opportunity to upgrade for first class for free, leaving Darrell and Oliver in coach. 😉

Thursday My goal for today (well, my running goal – eating goals got kind of blown out of the water) was to get in my 9 miles in the afternoon. I knew the odds of getting in all 3 runs left on this week’s training schedule (4, 5, 9 miles) were slim during this trip because of family activities, but I wanted to get the 9 done if nothing else. I headed out in the afternoon to run through my sister’s suburb and was immediately reminded of why I enjoy the holidays so much in the Midwest. Houston is still green, warm and muggy!
Green Christmas

Darrell said my mother was very worried the whole time I was gone and kept asking if it was normal for me to be out alone so long. She called me around 8.5 miles and I had to promise her that I was okay and on my way back. I can’t imagine how she’d have handled me being gone for 18 miles.

Friday – Sunday Know how I said I doubted I’d get all three runs in? That definitely turned out to be true. The 4 and 5 mile runs never happened. I have been really good this cycle about the long weekend runs, but definitely less diligent with the weekday runs! However, I did loads of walking and other activities that definitely count as workouts.

I’m grateful for safe travels and as much as I made some not-great food choices over Thanksgiving, my NSV is evident in the amount of not-worth-it foods I left on my plate. I love my family, but they’re definitely a binge trigger for me so not eating all-the-things is a big win.

This week, I’m on call so I’ve built it into my training plan as a do-what-you-can week. I was at work for 13 hours yesterday and worked more at home, so workouts get tough in these weeks. My goal is 10,000 steps a day and 10 flights of stairs a day, even if I can’t get in runs. There’s also no excuse not to fit in at least a little strength training and yoga in the mornings as well before I enter the last stretch of marathon training. I have two weeks left of marathon training (12 miles, 20 miles) before taper, crazy as that seems!

While I probably won’t get a lot of workout time this week, there’s no excuse for not getting back on a better diet track now that Thanksgiving is behind us. I have a bunch of holiday parties this month, but I find it easier to stay on track through a bunch of parties so long as I have my normal home diet in between. Getting back on track will be enough of a goal during this busy week!

Thanks as always to Holly and Tricia for hosting our link-up!

weekly wrap up

Did you have a good holiday weekend? Anyone else still feel a little hungover from Thanksgiving food?

Save

Save

Save

Save

8 responses to “Weekly Wrap-Up: Thanksgiving (and 18 miles!) survived!

  1. Anna says:

    I told my husband you might have to do your 18 on the treadmill…he was horrified at the thought. Sounds like you did fantastic 🙂 That little hedgehog is adorable!

  2. Look at you crushing your 18 miler like a boss!!

  3. Jennifer @ Dashing in Style says:

    WOW!!! Huge kudos for doing 16 miles on the treadmill then going back out for that last mile. I can imagine how easy it would have been to skip that last mile after a long treadmill run. Doing all the miles is money in the bank you’ll be able to tap into when you need to push a little more on race day.

  4. HoHo Runs says:

    Holy moly! You ran 17 miles on the treadmill? My hat is off to you lady! Very impressive. I’m a little stressed as I haven’t hit 18 miles yet and Disney is now only about a month away (yes, I’m late reading posts!) EEK. I do hope the weather will be tank-able but not hot. 48-50 would be perfect with no wind (if the running Gods are listening). I bet Oliver really enjoys this time of year. It’s cute how he is really concentrating on decorating that cookie. Thanks for linking, Jessica!

Leave a Reply

