A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Tuesdays on the Run: Good Life Halfsy Recap

on November 22, 2016
This week’s Tuesdays on the Run is all about Black Friday shopping codes and discounts and I confess, I’ll be reading and absorbing more than contributing to that topic. Instead, I thought I’d take advantage of the chance to give you a recap of the last of my run of half marathons this fall: the Good Life Halfsy in Lincoln. Thanks as always to Patty, Erika and Marcia for hosting the link up. Be sure to check it out for deals!
ToTR logo

I registered for the Halfsy because it was the same weekend as I was scheduled for a 15 mile run and I was a little nervous about my first real marathon training run. I figured running a new-to-me race would be a nice distraction from “holy cow I’m running 15 miles!” nerves. The race was in Lincoln, which is about 45 minutes from where I live, and offered packet pick up the morning of the race, which is always a perk. I drove out early (tip: Allow an extra 15 minutes or so to get to races because you never know when you’ll run into traffic from all of the other racers as you get near the race start!) and picked up my stuff about an hour before race time. I then headed out into the neighborhoods near the starting line to get in a couple of miles before the race start.

This was a point to point course that started at a local high school and finished downtown. The course is billed as “fast” because the overall course is net downhill. That’s technically true, but it’s Nebraska, so there were still some hills. The worst of them were in the first half of the race and we had lots of nice flat stretches too, so it wasn’t too bad. This was also a very walker and slow runner friendly race, with lots of people stretched along the back of the pack.

Course entertainment was just that . . . entertaining – and odd. This race is sponsored by Pink Gorilla Events, which run a few of our more party-like races in this neck of the woods. There was the requisite Pink Gorilla at the start, as well as bands, random costumed cheering squads, dragons and loads of little kids out passing out high fives. All in all, I enjoyed the distractions along the course.
Fun course entertainment
The course wound through some Lincoln neighborhoods as well as a couple of nice park sections. I enjoyed a little run around a lake, as well as long stretch along a waterway and park downtown. I don’t visit Lincoln often and found myself enjoying this little tour more than I remember enjoying the Lincoln Half Marathon back in the spring.
ParkParks

Of course, “mostly flat” is never entirely flat and this ended with a killer bridge at the end! The bonus is that is the feeling of a flying, fast finish as you come down off of the bridge and into the finishing party zone. The drawback: getting up that bridge to begin with.

Bridge at the finish

There were plenty of drinks and snacks at the finish, which I always appreciate, and I have my first ever functional medal: A beer opener!
New medal
There was also apparently beer somewhere in the finishing area but as I had a) a bus ride back to the starting line and b) a hour of driving still ahead of me, I immediately headed out after I was finished.

I love the color of the shirt although the fit is smaller than a medium normally is, so I can’t actually wear it at this point. Boo. The Good Life Halfsy is sponsored by Bulu Box, which meant nice race swag in that we got a three month subscription to Bulu Box with our registration. We also got free photos from the race course, which is possibly my favorite race “swag.”

good-life-halfsy-2016

All in all, this race felt like a lot more fun than the Lincoln Half Marathon in the spring. I’m not sure if it is the party atmosphere Pink Gorilla tries to build or the fact that my mind is in a laid-back, finish-it kind of mode as opposed to chasing a time goal like I was back in Lincoln. Regardless of the reason, this was a fun race that I’d definitely run again.

It was also my fourth half marathon in 23 days so I get to level up in Half Fanatics. Always a fun little celebration. ๐Ÿ™‚

What do you prefer – loops or point to point races? I like the point to point in theory – until I have to ride the bus back to the start!

Save

Save

9 responses to “Tuesdays on the Run: Good Life Halfsy Recap

  1. mkadens1 says:

    Congrats! Looks like a pretty course. Um yeah, bridges wear on me too. Yay for good swag. I’m going to go with loop course for the reason you mentioned. The bus is a PIA.

  2. I have never done a point to point. I can see how that would be nice. Sometimes, as a back of the packer, it can be disheartening to see people running back from the loop when you know you aren’t even close to finishing.

  3. Congrats on your finish! That is a pretty cool medal! We have a race series in Virginia Beach and every medal for their races is a bottle opener.

  4. I like point to point in theory but then they always seem to feel so much longer than a loop. A loop is good in that you have an idea what the finish will be lIke when you start.

  5. […] This guy is already in use in my kitchen as a beer opener (from the Good Life Halfsy): […]

Leave a Reply

