A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Weekly Wrap-Up: A lighter week

on November 21, 2016

In the Hal Higdon novice marathon training plan, there’s a step back in mileage every few weeks and this was one of those lighter weeks. I’m a little entertained that a 12 mile long run is now a “light week.” 🙂 Ah, the quirks of marathon training.

Workouts

Monday Walking to stretch things out after a long run, plus some body weight strength training.

Tuesday Running 3 miles in the morning  – it was supposed to 4 and I confess, I never made it back out to get in the last mile, but something is better than nothing.

Wednesday 8 miles total for the day: I ran a little over two miles in the morning and then got back out to finish up late Wednesday night. I have to say, that night run felt better than I’ve felt running in weeks! Free and easy, with no aches or pains or tightness. It was odd because night runs are normally much tougher for me. I think it was a) the sense of accomplishment for getting back out there and b) the Christmas lights. I love running in the dark this time of year.
Snowflakes

Thursday Meetings before and after work, so no run, but I did get in a walk at work and strength training at night.

Friday I intended to run 5 miles, which would have been my other weekday run for this week, but just couldn’t get it done. Fail, but I did do some much needed yoga and foam rolling.

Saturday No work out at all today, even though I should have at least done some cross training. I can’t regret it too much though, because I instead spent all day with my favorite guys, snuggled together watching movies and old Batman episodes. Sometimes things are more important than workouts. 🙂 I’m grateful for my glorious lazy day with my boys.

Sunday I got in twelve miles for a “short” long run and it felt great. I used the interval timer for the first time in a long time and it felt both faster and easier than a long run has in ages.
Longish run

This week, I have a dilemma. It’s Thanksgiving week and because of holiday obligations, I need to do my long run (18 miles!!) before Turkey day. The day that works in my schedule for 18 miles is tomorrow. I’ve taken the afternoon off from work to get it done. I’ve had my schedule blocked for weeks so I could get this run done. Naturally, now the forecast calls for rain. So, do I run 18 miles in the rain (40 degrees, windy) or on the treadmill? Neither choice is particularly appealing.

Which would you choose? Sadly, running on a different day isn’t an option.

Thanks as always to Holly and Tricia for hosting our link up!

weekly wrap up

Save

Save

12 responses to “Weekly Wrap-Up: A lighter week

  1. Zalary says:

    I would almost always choose to run outside (even in the rainy cold) than on the treadmill, but I guess it depends on how the weather actually ends us being. You could always start outside and hit the ‘mill if it’s too unpleasant, or start on the mill and brave the weather if you get too bored.

    Good luck either way!

    • That’s what I think I’m going to do. I can split 9 and 9, so that even if both are a little miserable, at least I get some variety. I’m really hoping the rain is light so I can just stay out!

  2. Yeah, split it if you have to, but at least start your run outside. Outside always just feels better, especially for super long distances. Good luck!

  3. I agree. I’d split it up too. Good luck!

  4. I’d do it outside because you never know, it could be 40 and rainy on race day, so training in different conditions is never a bad thing.

  5. Excellent update! Keep at it! You are doing amazing!

  6. HoHo Runs says:

    Unless it is thundering and lightning, I would choose the outdoor run. I agree with Jennifer — you may have those conditions on race day so you might as well get in the practice and confidence building. I always appreciate the neighbors who leave their Christmas lights on all night. It’s like my personal light display on my predawn runs. Thanks for linking, Jessica!

Leave a Reply

