A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Weekly Wrap Up: Resetting after a crazy week

on November 14, 2016

I know I’m not the only one who had a chaotic week. Between the election and traveling to DC for week (wow was that bad timing!), it was rough and we’ll just leave it at that. Lack of sleep and stress meant some bad food choices, lackluster strength training and one missed run. On the bright side (and the only NSV I can think of at the moment), today is a new day.

Workouts

Monday This was supposed to be a rest day but I woke up antsy thanks to the impending travel and election, so I went out for a walk anyway. One thing about getting into more serious training is that it always leaves me feeling like I need to start each day with a workout – definitely a win!

Tuesday I woke up early to run my 4 miles before my long day of travel. Good plan as I was utterly exhausted by the time I finally got settled in Bethesda for my meeting! I was flying into Reagan airport but we got diverted because there were too many VIPs trying to land. We settled at Dulles for about an hour before making the less than 10 minute flight over to Reagan. Nuts!

Wednesday I am very proud of myself for waking up to run 4 miles on the treadmill before my meeting started, despite being up until 2 am watching election results. Of course, after a few hours of sleep and a day of meetings, I couldn’t make myself head back out in the evening to get in the other 4 miles for my scheduled 8. I passed out on the bed at 8 pm and didn’t move again until 6 am. Sometimes sleep wins and that’s okay (especially with lupus!).

Thursday I may have slept through any chance to run in the morning, but that didn’t stop me from taking a walk during lunch. It was nice to head out through the trees and decompress. This meeting was packed with new information and lots of networking, so introverted little old me was drained. I flew home after the meeting finished that day and ended up getting back to my house after midnight. LONG day!

Maryland

Friday A well deserved rest day, with nothing but catching up with my family. We all three have colds, so snuggling together seemed like the best recovery.

Saturday Oliver and I went on a walk and did some strength training together. We also got tons of work done around the house. I took the stairs SO many times putting up Halloween decorations! I think that might be why my knees were achy on Sunday before my run.

We also gathered up and cataloged a ton of stuff for Goodwill. My good deed this week was teaching Oliver about why we donate things instead of throwing them away and all of the different ways we can and should give back.

Sunday 16 miles! My workout week may have felt a little lackluster, with a missed 8 miler and short walks for cross training, but I was determined to get my 16 miles done in one fell swoop and I did it! I was slow – man am I feeling this extra weight! – but I kept going. I definitely have the mental strength to finish 26.2 miles and that’s a pretty amazing thing to realize! I was tired and sore at the end (and grateful to be finished) but also knew I could keep putting one foot in front of the other if I needed to. Win!

I got a knotted up muscle along my outer shins, especially on the left, which Darrell oh-so-kindly massaged for me while we were watching Once Upon a Time. I am so grateful for that man I married. šŸ™‚ I haven’t had trouble with shin splints since I first started running and I suspect the fact that I’m putting more pressure on my legs since I’ve gained weight is part of the problem. I’ve looked up some preventative exercises, in terms of stretches and strength exercises, to help things out and will check out the age of my shoes to be sure that isn’t a problem. I may also need to make the effort to drive over to the park to run most of the long runs, as it is a lot flatter there, rather than running in the hillier areas between my house and the park. Walt Disney World is fairly (although not completely) flat so training on flat surfaces might be good in general.

This week, I’m resolving to be more proactive about my strength training and about that midweek long-ish run. The reality is, I only have a few more weeks of doing this (eek!) so I can buckle down and make it happen. I NEED to if I don’t want to have a miserable race experience in January.

Thanks as always to Holly and Tricia for hosting our link up!

weekly wrap up

What’s your weirdest flight experience? A less than 10 minute flight might be my oddest experience to date. It felt like such a waste!

Save

9 responses to “Weekly Wrap Up: Resetting after a crazy week

  1. Great job completing the 16 miles. Higher mileage is never easy! How kind your hubby gave you a massage. I always have to pay for mine!

  2. Jennifer @ Dashing in Style says:

    Congrats for getting to that point in training when you know you have the mental strength to run 26.2. That belief is so important and will carry you through the rest of training and the race!

  3. Awesome job, especially with traveling for work. That’s always some of the hardest times for me to get my runs in. And well done too with the 16 miler! That point was when I knew I could do it during this last marathon training schedule šŸ™‚

    • I always think it’ll be easier to run when I’m traveling for work because I don’t have to worry about the mom and home responsibilities, but I underestimate how much travel and networking saps my energy.

  4. HoHo Runs says:

    Your week sounds exhausting with the untimely travel to DC! Great job on the 16 miler. That is my planned distance for this weekend. I hope your shin splints are better. Rest assured, except for a few highway ramps, Disney is flat (70 feet on my Garmin over 26.7 miles). My weirdest airline story? My flight was cancelled because the pilot refused to fly such a smelly airplane. Bathroom drama, apparently. Thanks for linking, Jessica!

  5. Great job on getting in your runs on your hectic schedule, gosh I don’t know how you do it! I do bet DC was a mad house earlier last week, No flying stories for you, I’ve only flown once in my entire life. I think adding a destination race that we can’t drive too in our RV should fix that though !

Leave a Reply

