A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Tuesdays on the Run: Looking back to the beginning of blogging

on November 8, 2016

Today’s Tuesdays on the Run topic is looking back at the beginning our blogging. Coincidentally enough, my first blog post was titled “A beginning.” Not the most creative title but definitely a beginning to something that has been bigger and better than I expected! Thanks as always to Marcia, Patty and Erika for hosting our link up.

ToTR logo

I started this blog in August 2013 after I’d reached my goal weight and as I set out to tackle the big new goal of running my first half marathon. I thought the blog would serve as a kind of diary, both for purposes of capturing my own thoughts and memories of my training and my attempt at weight maintenance and as a sort of accountability for both of those things.

I need to remind myself more often of how far I've come.

I need to remind myself more often of how far I’ve come.

Looking back now, it’s fun to see how excited I was about some of those early wins in running, when I’d surprise myself by how far and how fast I could go. It’s nice to reread those now, when I feel so slow and when double digit runs have become old hat. I’ve definitely lost some of that beginner’s joie de vivre.

10K Finish Line 9.22.13Wow was I pink at that first 10K!

I also did a lot more talking about weight maintenance back then. I’ve backed off from that a lot lately and not coincidentally, have not been so successful in weight maintenance for the last six months. Am I writing about it less because I’m backsliding or am I backsliding because I’m not writing and reflecting as consciously on it? Interesting question.

I remember at the beginning of blogging, I occasionally got a little caught up in the idea that I should be doing “more” – writing more, getting sponsored posts and getting more readers, more social media presence, etc. The problem was that I had no real interest in doing the things that get you those things. More power to the people who do! At some point, I settled into happily doing my thing in my little space, regardless of followers or commenters or what have you. It was freeing to let that nagging sense that “I should be doing more” go and just let the blog be for me. 🙂

I’ve debated a lot about blogging lately, as I get busier and busier. I write less, but still write because it’s an important part of my space to reflect and to feel accountable for my training. I also love the community we’ve built, with other blogger friends, both virtual and in real life. Any time I read a comment from someone about how something I’ve said has helped them, it makes me beam. I love how we all support each other and my invisible army (aka all of you!) are with me every time I tackle something tough.

I thinking my blog has changed along with my relationship with my weight maintenance and with running, just like any other relationship changes. Like any love story, the spark of newness that jolts so much of early conversation settles into a comfort and steadiness, no matter the highs and lows. I like that. I like knowing that you guys, this space and my commitment to myself are all always here for me. Thanks so much for that!

I know we’ve got a lot going on tonight in this little country of ours. I hope whatever happens, things stay peaceful and that it happens soon enough that I can go to sleep early enough to run in the morning! Stay safe tonight and be at peace!

5 responses to “Tuesdays on the Run: Looking back to the beginning of blogging

  1. mkadens1 says:

    It’s interesting how our blogs reflect our priorities and change along with us as we evolve. Thanks for linking up!

    • I’m always struck by the Facebook “On this day” feature and seeing pictures and videos of O when he was younger. I need to do the same thing periodically for the blog to see how much I’ve evolved too. 🙂

  2. Karen @ Fit in France says:

    So much fun to look back and see how far we have come !

  3. wwwgnome says:

    Very inspiring post, just what I needed as I attempt to dust off my blog!

Leave a Reply

