A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Can you get that first time feeling back again?

on October 25, 2016

Today’s Tuesdays on the Run topic is race do-overs. Thanks as always to Patty, Marcia and Erika for hosting!

ToTR logo

I spent a lot of time thinking about this as I was flying today (safely arrived in New Orleans!). I’m not a big believer in regrets, so I don’t really dwell on “bad” races. They’re all things I can learn from and I try to look at them as such. However, if I had to redo one race in my life, it would be the Princess Half Marathon.

My arms are up in almost all of the photos for some reason :)

My arms are up in almost all of the photos for some reason πŸ™‚

I re-read my race recap and had to laugh, because I don’t remember those tough first couple of miles at all. I’d even forgotten that I ran that thing with a broken toe! What do I remember? I remember my face hurting from smiling so much. I remember being happy to be in my happy place, with a ton of other people having a great time and accomplishing something I’d never imagined. I remember being tired at the end and seeing the beginning of the finishing chute and realizing I was DOING this.

There’s something magical about the first time. There are jitters, of course. The jitters are actually the only thing I remember about my first 5K. My first half marathon, though, for that I remember the joy.

I have a friend running her first half marathon in a couple of weeks and she’s deep in the jitters phase right now. I really hope she gets to the joy part. For my first marathon in January, I’m going to reach for the joy. We don’t get many firsts in life (especially at 38 years old!) so I want to soak up every moment!

If you could re-live a race, which one would it be?

6 responses to “Can you get that first time feeling back again?

  1. Patty H says:

    Totally remember those jitters- every time I race. HA! But I’d do PHM over again too- at least a couple of them. πŸ˜‰

  2. Oh my gosh, Princess was my first half marathon … way back in 2009! And I’ve come back every single year since because it was such a special experience for me. So I guess in that way, I do “do it over” every single year πŸ™‚ That is so awesome that your memories are the joy and the smiles!

  3. mkadens1 says:

    Great memories! I definitely felt joy during/after my first half but my first full was drudgery because it was 93 degrees. I had so much fear dealing with that heat.

Leave a Reply

