A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Tuesdays on the Run: Tapering Quirks

on October 11, 2016

Today’s Tuesdays on the Run topic is tapering: what are your particular tapering quirks or cravings. Thanks as always to Patty, Marcia and Erika for hosting our link up!

ToTR logo

I don’t know that I have any particular tapering quirks anymore (other than OVER tapering and avoiding running all together during “taper” time) but that’s definitely been a work in progress. My big taper anxieties have always been wondering if I was undertrained or ready for the race and dealing with lots of phantoms aches and pains that show up during taper time. During my first taper (and in every one thereafter) I had this weird new knee pain that had me panicking about injury, but it ended up being nothing by the time race day came around. Now I’m used to that and when my knee started hurting walking into work today, I greeted it as a familiar taper quirk and didn’t worry any more about it.

Now, I deal with taper time worries by reminding myself of a few things:

  • I’ve worked hard and put in lots of miles. I look back at my weekly wrap ups and notes in my training log (when I remember to make them!) to remind myself of all of the miles I’ve put in. As I get closer and closer to race day this week, I keep reminding myself about those back to back 11 mile workouts a couple of weeks ago. If I could do those, I can definitely do back to back half marathons if I’m smart about it.
  • The cake is already in the oven. I’ve done the training. Extra long or hard workouts at this point won’t add anything to my fitness but will increase my risk of injury. Be smart and don’t push it.
  • Ignore the phantom aches and pains. If it gets better when you stop thinking about it, it might just be your mind playing with you. Of course, if there’s pain that is getting worse or hindering your ability to walk/run, get that checked out but for me, these pains usually goes away when I stop worrying about it. Reminding myself that I’ve been through this before is a key survival strategy.
  • Do you things you CAN do to support your race. It feels like you’re doing a whole lot of nothing during taper time. Focusing on the things you can actually be working on helps tremendously. Hydrate, rest, stretch/foam roll and eat healthy foods to fuel your race.
I filled my 32 oz water bottle as soon as I got to work and promise to refill it at least twice more today!

I filled my 32 oz water bottle as soon as I got to work and promise to refill it at least twice more today!

I expect that my marathon taper will bring a whole new level of crazy and anxiety. I’ll have to come back and re-read this to remind myself of what I should do!

How do you handle taper time?

 

Save

Save

Save

7 responses to “Tuesdays on the Run: Tapering Quirks

  1. I’m the weirdo that LOVES taper time. Fitting in training can be tough to juggle with kids, a full time job, etc etc etc…so I use taper time to rest and regroup!

  2. I have a hard time tapering too. But like you said you know you put in all the hard work so it is just time to relax a bit.

  3. mkadens1 says:

    I am right there with you with taper time phantom aches and pains.

Leave a Reply

