A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

The most challenging part of running . . .

on September 27, 2016

Today’s Tuesdays on the Run topic is the most challenging part about running. I know this is going to be different for all of us. To look on the bright side, I decided to focus on my challenges but also the best ways I know to counter them.

  • Today, the most challenging part about my run was getting out of bed. I know I’m more likely to stick to the training plan if I get up to run in the morning, but I stayed up too late following the debate on Twitter and it was hard to get moving this morning. I deal with this by promising myself (like I did today!) that even a little bit of a run is better than nothing and hopefully, by getting to bed at a reasonable hour when I’ve got training runs in the morning. I’m going to be looking at 9 pm bedtimes through marathon training and at finding ways to speed up my morning routine so I can get out of the house faster to run.
There are other perks to working out in the morning too - gorgeous sunrises!

There are other perks to working out in the morning too – gorgeous sunrises!

  • I know that strength training would make me a healthier, faster runner and is good for my overall well-being. It would decrease my risk of injury. Even just a few minutes a few times a week would help. And yet still, I don’t do it. Grrrr. I just cannot find the motivation. I’ve asked Darrell to work out with me to see if a partner can keep me more on task.
  • Time is always a challenge for my training. Fitting it all into a busy work and family schedule can be tough. I can’t imagine what it will be like once O has more on his schedule with school and his own activities! Google calendars are a HUGE help with this, in helping us keep things on track as a family. Of course, that requires that I keep things up to date and that I take the time at the beginning of the week to identify when I get my workouts done.

Of course, there’s the little matter of running itself. Some days that is a HUGE challenge. Thank goodness I’m totally okay with walk breaks and with not hitting any PRs for time these days. 🙂

What are your biggest running challenges? Got any advice for me in terms of staying motivated with strength training? Because of the time issue, I can’t squeeze in a trainer or a class, which would definitely help, so I need to find a way to get motivated at home!

ToTR logo

Thanks as always to Erika, Patty and Marcia for hosting Tuesdays on the Run!

Save

2 responses to “The most challenging part of running . . .

  1. Gill says:

    Love this post – you’ve captured pretty much all of my challenges! I too know that I need to run in the mornings or life gets in the way. I managed to get up this morning, knocked out a hilly 5km and now feel like I can do anything! Yesterday I put it off and never got around to it. Also love your positive attitude in beating the challenges – keep at it!

Leave a Reply

