A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

2016 Peak 2 Peak 10 Mile Race

on September 23, 2016

Earlier this month, I ran the Peak 2 Peak 10 mile race for the third time. This is my favorite local race by far. It is usually right about the time our weather starts to turn into fall, so it feels like a nice celebration of cooler weather. The course is fairly flat and ten mile races are weirdly fun (and convenient in half marathon training!). The real reason I love this race, though? The people are FANTASTIC. The volunteers on the course are unfailingly cheerful and helpful. The packet pick up and pre-race communication are always prompt and thorough AND we always get interesting goodies other than just a shirt and medal.

Peak 2 Peak bag

Oliver has already claimed this year’s duffle bag as his own. In years past, we’ve gotten running socks and a water bottle. Considering this is a pretty cheap and well supported race, bonus swag like this feels like icing on the cake. 🙂

Peak 2 Peak tee: love the graphic but brown?I love the graphic and fit of this year’s shirt, but it’s a dark brown which is definitely not my favorite. This brown girl doesn’t generally wear brown – just doesn’t look good for me.

My plan for this race was simple: slow and steady, enjoy the miles. I had these 10 miles on Saturday and another 9 coming Sunday, so I had to remind myself over and over not to get caught up in the thrill of the race or I’d regret it the next day!

Quiet race path

Of course, taking that approach meant I was very quickly left at the back of pack and alone for large sections of the path. That actually wasn’t bad at all – very peaceful – and I did get to see a lot of the other runners because of the looping nature of the course. The guy who won the race (in less than half the time it took me to run it!) congratulated me and cheered me on every time he saw me. Half the runners who I passed at some point on the course said “Hi” or “Great job” and those who didn’t say anything smiled or waved. That friendliness is one of the best things about the Omaha running community and this race in particular.

Sandal running

One of the most interesting runners I spoke with was this woman, who ran the whole 10 miles in flat fashion-y sandals. They had a leather sole and fabric straps. She said she’d trained for the whole time in these sandals and really appreciated that her feet didn’t get hot. I can’t imagine that, but it speaks to how important it is to train as you plan to race, because it preps your body in a lot of ways.

Peak 2 Peak swag

I finished in 2:17:12, which is much slower than my prior times in this race, but well within my pace goal for my back to back half marathons so I’m pleased with it. Every race has different goals. While I didn’t love the shirt, I LOVE the medal (even if Peak 2 Peak in now way involves mountains) and I love that this race gives medals, which makes it a great race for someone wanting to celebrate their first double digit race.

What’s the most unusual thing you’ve seen someone wear in a race?  I definitely stayed around to cheer for the sandal runner as she finished because I’m just in awe of her feet!

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

4 responses to “2016 Peak 2 Peak 10 Mile Race

  1. 10 miles! Wow! Great job. Have a fantastic weekend.

  2. Jennifer @ Dashing in Style says:

    Sounds like a great race with great swag! So cool that the leader cheered you on. I always cheer for the leaders when I see them, and some don’t even acknowledge it. Although, they could be in a pain cave, so I can’t blame them because I’m anti-social when I’m in that situation.

Leave a Reply

