A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Best Running Advice

on September 20, 2016
Today on Tuesdays on the Run, we’re all talking about our favorite running advice. This is the perfect boost of motivation I need to find a way to run this week! Currently, getting workouts in this week seems daunting (travel yesterday, 7  am meetings Tues-Wed-Thurs) but after reading these posts, I’m pumped to get out and do it!

My favorite running advice is the advice I gave my friend this weekend as we discussed whether or not she could run a half marathon (she totally could!):

Take it one mile at a time.

Another favorite variation: Run the mile you’re in.

This is crucial during the inevitable tough runs, during races that seem overwhelming and even now, as I look a couple of months ahead into marathon training and wonder how on earth I’m going to run so many miles at once, much less that many miles in a week! You get there, one mile at a time.

New shoes to start 2016 off right!

One foot in front of the other!

The beautiful thing about this advice is that it almost always works. I can almost always keep putting one foot in front of the other in some form or fashion for another 10-20 minutes (depending on how slow my pace might get) and check off another mile. And then another. And then another. Focusing on where you are right now and what you’re doing keeps the enormity of the task from overwhelming us and helps make running the only kind of meditation I’ve been able to stick with.

I’m really looking forward to today’s advice. I’m already loving Erika‘s advice to run slow and walk fast with these long and back to back runs. I may print that out! Patty‘s advice to run your own your race is another favorite of mine and one I’ve told myself many times when I fall into that comparison trap. You do you. 🙂

What’s your favorite running advice?
ToTR logo

Thanks as always to Patty, Erika and Marcia for hosting our link up!

Save

Save

5 responses to “Best Running Advice

  1. lachicaruns says:

    I really like the idea of running in the moment. It’s easy to get overwhelmed, especially on a long run. I like the reminder to think about where I’m at just at that moment. Thanks for linking up!

  2. This is super advice and it’s so simple we often forget it! We need not worry about the whole race, we can not run a whole race at one time. It is of course mile by mile, step by step! I
    love this Jessica, and thanks for that!

  3. […] with the goal of taking it one mile at a time, just like we discussed last week in terms of running and racing advice and for the most part it worked. I confess, my mind wandered and I did get lost once. Oops! Thank […]

Leave a Reply

