A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Struggling a bit . . .

on September 14, 2016

You ever have those days when something is off that you can’t put your finger on? I’ve been having a lot of those. It’s like I’m anxious about something but I can’t figure out what it might be, so I can’t fix it. Not only does this mean I feel off in general, but I’m struggling with a lot binge-y feelings (and some resulting bad choices) and more lupus-y symptoms than normal.

If I knew what was wrong, I feel like I could take proactive steps to help with this feeling. Work is no more stressful than usual and my training is going okay. Long run days are actually the days I feel this anxiety the least. Our busy home life is in balance as much as it ever is and the adjustment to kindergarten has gone relatively smoothly. I feel some distress about the fact that I’ve regained so much weight and haven’t made any headway in reversing that, but it isn’t like I’m dwelling on it. I’m not sure what this is – just an odd season in life I suppose.

Without a concrete thing that’s “wrong” I’m feeling a little at sea in “fixing” this. While I’m feeling the urge to binge and have definitely made some bad food choices as a result, I’ve had nothing that tipped into full scale binge territory like it would have in the past. I need to give myself credit for how far I’ve come because that is a huge victory.

I’ve been so busy that I haven’t been keeping the house stocked with fruit and other “safe” foods for when those evening munchies hit. I should remedy that. I’ve also be re-reading some of my old strategies for managing stress eating and night time, since that seems to be my biggest trouble time right now. Tea instead of snacks and going to bed early both sound like lovely ways to distract myself from the nighttime munchies and to hopefully soothe a little of this anxiety.

I’m also working on building up my bank of happy thoughts as a distraction. This afternoon, I volunteered at O’s school walk a thon and had a blast spraying kids with colored powder (and got messier than the kids!).

Messy but fun!My blue hair does not come through in this photo. 🙂

I think the most important thing, for me at least, in keeping from heading into binge territory again, is being honest about struggling. Honest with myself, honest with Darrell and honest here. It’ll be okay. I’ve handled worse than this and I can (and will) get professional help if I need it.

How do you handle those periods when things just feel off?

Save

4 responses to “Struggling a bit . . .

  1. JakeB says:

    Hey, I know *exactly* what you mean. I hate that indefineable anxiety, or feeling low for no reason. Sometimes I find that what helps for me is that I work on making lists of stuff: things I have to do, things I want to do, things I’m working on, etc. (I have an epic Trello for this, if you’ve ever used Trello?). By pinning it all down it helps me be confident I haven’t forgotten something, and it also puts in perspective that I’m not actually overwhelmed, I’m able to manage all my tasks etc.

    I sometimes find that helps me anyway – I don’t know whether it would be any good for you, but maybe try it and let me know how you get on.

  2. Jennifer @ Dashing in Style says:

    Could the lupus be the cause? You said you’ve been having more symptoms–maybe the off feeling is one of them? Whatever the cause, you’re doing all the right things by recognizing it and coming up with solutions. I’ve been really bad with eating crap lately, and I know it’s because of work stress. I think I need to proactively work at switching my mindset to want to eat better, like you’ve done. Thanks for the inspiration!

    • It definitely could be. I had a period like this before that we couldn’t find the cause of and now I wonder if it was the lupus since you can get some mental symptoms with it. It’s easing up a bit, thankfully, but I think a big part of that is just admitting it was a problem.

Leave a Reply

