A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Post-run rituals

on September 13, 2016

This week’s Tuesdays on the Run topic is post-run rituals and I have to say, I’m a little envious reading about some of these! This summer, I’ve been particularly jealous of all of you with pools who can just dive in and cool off after a hot run! Thanks as always to Patty, Erika and Marcia for hosting our link up!

ToTR logo

Truthfully, post-run, I’m almost always immediately back to momming. This guy is demanding in the best way.

image

He always wants to tell me about what he’s done while I was gone or what Daddy’s done wrong while I was gone. He even asks how my run went. I love my husband for ALWAYS asking how my run went. These days, time is always tight so as soon as I finish my run I’m in the house, in the shower and out to go somewhere else or do something else. I’m proud of us for (almost) always finding a way to fit the runs even when things are busy.

What does that mean I skip in post-run time? Usually stretching and foam rolling – those happen at night after O is in bed.

I really need to get better about doing this regularly!

I really need to get better about doing this regularly!

Sadly, I also usually skip a nap. That should seriously be part of every post-run ritual don’t you think?

What do I always make time for, no matter what? With these back to back long runs on the weekend, refueling as soon as I can after the run is key so I always make time for a snack and giant glass of water (usually with Nuun). If we’re quickly heading out to our next thing on the “schedule” (my little guy is very into schedules these days), then Darrell or I make a quick smoothie for me to take with me as we head out the door. I’m not a big fan of smoothies as meal replacements, because they don’t feel like food to me, but they’re perfect for that post-run, “not hungry but know I need to fuel” window. I usually toss in some almond milk, protein powder, spinach, a banana and whatever other frozen fruit I have on hand so I can get some protein and carbs before I head back out. Since I only do smoothies after weekend long runs, I do look forward to them as my post-run treat. 🙂

When I first started running, I would always treat myself to Starbucks after a long run. Maybe as I head into progressively longer weekends (two 11 milers coming up the weekend of 9/24 and then marathon long runs in October!) I need to come up with some new treats for myself post long run. Maybe we can just consider naps as my post-run treat? 🙂

What’s your post-run ritual?

 

 

Save

7 responses to “Post-run rituals

  1. I love taking naps after my long runs. I am also so bad at stretching and foam rolling before and after my runs. I need to work on that.

  2. Rachel says:

    My husband and I have an agreement that I’m “off duty” on the weekends when I have a long run when I’m in training. I don’t even do anything special but I need some “me” time to recuperate from a long run. And I totally hear you on the smoothies — they are PERFECT for the weird post-run time when you’re not hungry but you need to get something in your depleted body!

  3. mkadens1 says:

    I hear you on the momming. Many times I can barely eat and shower and we’re off doing family stuff. A nap would be divine, alas that never happens here.

  4. Karen @ Fit in France says:

    I make sure I stretch at the end before coming home, or else the stretching doesn’t happen. I usually think about what food I am going to eat for my next meal too. I do not like smoothies or protein shakes… I prefer eating my calories to drinking them.

Leave a Reply

