A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Weekly Wrap Up: 19 miles in one weekend!

on September 12, 2016

And I can still walk today without much pain – yep, I’m pretty impressed with myself. 🙂 My NSV this week is definitely how much I’ve been appreciating the muscles that are getting more defined in my legs. I’m grateful for all my body can do, even if it is a little fluffier than I’d like these days.

Workouts

Monday Rest day other than loads of running around at work

Tuesday Walking & strength training

Wednesday I’d missed Tuesday morning’s run because I had to be at work early, so I was determined to get it done Wednesday. I changed into running clothes as soon as I got home Wednesday and headed out for 3 miles as soon as O went to bed.

Thursday Another early morning, so I had to get the run done in the evening. There was a meeting at Oliver’s elementary school that night, so I changed into my running skirt and walked up to the meeting. I started my run on the way back, stopped by the house to give O a kiss goodnight, and then headed right back out to finish. No excuses!
Ready to goThankfully my running skirts are super cute so I didn’t look out of place at the meeting.

Friday Walking for cross training, as well as some stretching to get ready for a big weekend.

Saturday 10 miles! I ran the Peak 2 Peak 10 miler (full report coming later!) and had my fastest long run of this training cycle. It’s amazing what a difference a change in weather makes. It was in the 60s and a gorgeous day to run. After the run, I was sure to refuel, drink plenty of water and stretch/foam roll a ton so I was ready for Sunday’s 9 miles.

Sunday 9 miles! It felt like such a huge accomplishment to get this back to back long run done. 19 miles in one weekend is definitely a new achievement for me. My legs were sore and I was slower Sunday, but I definitely could have kept going for another 4 miles. I’ll definitely be able to handle this back-to-back half marathon challenge. My legs were sore, but they could keep moving. Amazing 🙂
New skirt out for a runI tried out my new Wonder Woman inspired skirt for this second long run. I think it boosted me a bit – every little thing helps!

I also got in my second strength training of the week Sunday afternoon and more foam rolling. Today, I feel pretty good. My quads have a little ache but nothing too terrible. I’m really amazed at how good I feel after doing 19 miles in one weekend.

I have one more back to back long run in this part of my training for the I-35 challenge. In mid-October, I’ll do my two half marathons in one weekend and then transition to a more traditional marathon training plan. Being able to cover this ground relatively comfortably has done a lot for my confidence for both the I-35 challenge and for the marathon in January. Slow and steady!

My good deed last week was signing up to volunteer at O’s school. I really would like to help out at school, but as a working mom, I need advance notice to block my schedule. Last minute requests don’t work unfortunately and so far, there seems to be more than a little of that. Frustrating, to say the least, but I’ll keep trying. Happily, they released the classroom reading volunteer schedule for the whole semester at once so I could sign up for several slots well in advance. It should be interesting to help out in kindergarten. I’ll be sure to tell you guys all about it!

I’m proud of Darrell this week. He’s getting back into the gym himself and has put his workouts on the family calendar, so we can work everything in. It’s hard to get back in the habit of working out, so I’ll do whatever I can to support him as well as he’s supported me in my running.

Thanks as always to Holly and Tricia for hosting our Weekly Wrap Up link up!

weekly wrap up

I can’t believe I ran 19 miles this weekend! I feel like a rock star. Imagine how I’ll feel in marathon training, when I do that all in one run!!!

Save

9 responses to “Weekly Wrap Up: 19 miles in one weekend!

  1. Jennifer @ Dashing in Style says:

    So awesome that you felt so good after that high mileage weekend! You are definitely ready for your back-to-back race challenge! Also, congrats on a great 10-miler. Look forward to the recap!

  2. Love to see someone setting goals and achieving them!! ~Sherry

  3. HoHo Runs says:

    I think I have that same Wonder Woman skirt! Wow! That is a very impressive number of miles for one weekend. You will be ready for that I-35 challenge. We sure do put our bodies through the wringer. I have to remember to appreciate the ability to do this crazy stuff. I love that you stopped by the house for a goodnight kiss. Thanks for linking, Jessica!

  4. Now that is how you get all your runs in! You do what you can when you can!
    Oh I do love the colorful skirt, what kind is this?? The one you wore to the meeting?
    What awesome news on how you felt after your back to back long runs! I gotta tell ya I don’t know I could do it but you rocked it! You look amazing too in the wonder woman skirt! Love it!

Leave a Reply

