A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Weekly Wrap-Up: Bigger and bigger weekend runs!

on August 30, 2016

I’ve gotta say, this weekend’s back to back runs have me feeling like a bit of rock star. 8 miles Saturday and 9 miles Sunday is not too shabby. 🙂

Workouts

Monday Nothing much – it’s hard to get workouts in on Mondays somehow. 😦

Tuesday 3 mile run in the morning before a long day! It always feels good to get my workout done in the morning (should have remembered that later this week!)

Wednesday I traveled to a nearby town with a little resort for a work meeting. I had a nice little walk in the woods first thing in the morning, which was much nicer than trying to run on this little wooden path – slippery!
Walking in the woods

Thursday You know I wrote about how to handle a missed workout last Thursday but said I’d be sure to get my run in? Yeah, that didn’t happen. If I don’t do it in the morning, it doesn’t get done.

Friday I went for a walk and did some strength training, which isn’t how I’d usually celebrate my run-i-versary, but knowing I had the 8 and 9 mile runs coming Saturday and Sunday I did the smart thing and took it easy.

Saturday Ugh – I got the 8 miles in but because it was super sunny when I ran in the afternoon, it was miserable. It was raining in the morning, so I waited until the afternoon but ended up wishing I’d run in the rain. It was way too hot! I ran out of water at 4 miles, refilled and then was out again by 6 miles. Miserable!

Summer running tan lines

Sexy tan lines right?

My good deed this week was saving a runaway cart while I was going through the grocery store parking lot to refill my water.

Sunday This run was a thousand times better! (And significantly faster!) Every step felt easy and fun, even though it was 9 miles just a day after I’d covered 8 miles. One of my favorite sights on this run? A little cart at the golf course that apparently drives around to deliver booze. There are little airline containers of booze in that cart. The best part? She was driving around with these at 9 am. Country club life must be fun. 🙂 (I don’t live in a country club neighborhood – just run there sometimes for the shade)

Booze mobile I am amazed at how good I’ve felt after these back to back runs. I’m not really sore or tired. So far my plan of not pushing the pace and paying attention to hydration and fueling between runs is working well. I also did some stretching and strength training in the evening.

We had a great family-flexible dinner Sunday night. We made individual lasagnas in ramekins. Everyone could put their own fillings in, layered with my homemade sauce and noodles. Mine was very veggie heavy and Oliver very proudly put two zucchini bites in his.
Mini lasagnas

My NSV is yet again having lots of times that I’m stopping eating with food still on my plate. I know that’s been my NSV a lot in the few weeks, but I’m really noticing that lately and excited by it. I’m grateful that I can still see the positives in little moments like this.

I’m on call this week (and spent almost 13 hours at work yesterday, thus this is a day late!) so I’m going with my usual on call workout plan: at least 10 flights of stairs, plus any runs I can work in. There’s lots of walking during these weeks so I am not worried about losing much in terms of fitness. This was also a cutback week in the Galloway I-35 training plan, so I’m still on track in that regard too. All in all, going well so far!

Thanks as always to Holly and Tricia for hosting our link up!

weekly wrap upSo if you were out on a hot and sweaty run and a booze-mobile came by, what would you order?

Save

Save

8 responses to “Weekly Wrap-Up: Bigger and bigger weekend runs!

  1. I fully appreciate the awesome feeling one gets leaving food on their plate. GO YOU!

    Love the idea of the individual lasagnas. Gonna have to borrow it!

  2. Patty H says:

    ha ha ha about the booze mobile! I am not sure I’d be able to resist. 😉

  3. You are doing awesome especially with those back to back runs! Gahhh I’m not going to be able to keep up with you in NOLA!! 🙂

  4. HoHo Runs says:

    I’m very impressed that you are doing back to back long runs! Great job this week. I love that pretty path with the bridge. My husband plays golf and it’s common for the “cart girl” to bring beverages to the golfers. I’ve never heard of them doing it for residents though. Must be nice. 😉 I wish I knew when my run-i-versary was. I didn’t write it down but have a general idea. At least I know the year. LOL. Thanks for linking, Jessica!

Leave a Reply

