A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Running Selfies, Photobombs and a Handful of random reviews

on August 17, 2016
It’s not quite Tuesday, is it? Horrible migraine yesterday, I suspect brought on by the stress of starting kindergarten and bad sleep. Missed Tuesdays on the Run and missed my actual run! Boo!

This week’s Tuesdays on the Run topic is race photobombs, of which I cannot recall ANY other than this weird stuffed tiger in my mid-run “ugh blisters suck!” selfie from my run this weekend.

WTF is that big tiger doing there?

What is that doing there?!

Instead, I thought I’d do a quick review of a handful of new products I’ve tried out lately (all purchased myself or gifted from someone else – no compensation of any kind for any of this) .

– I don’t know if I’ve ever mentioned how much I LOVE Win’s sports laundry detergent. It does a great job getting rid of the stink in summer running clothes, even when they’ve sat around for a few days before I wash them.
Ignite reload

– I won these Ignite Reload gels as a door prize at the running retreat I attended in July. I was skeptical (as I naturally am of anything marketed as “healthy” and “natural”, weirdly enough) but I actually like these a lot. These texture is a little thinner than Gu, with no grittiness – which is what I don’t like about Clif gels – and a nice sweet, fruity flavor. They settled nicely on my stomach and the flavor was a nice, summery change of pace from my usual salted caramel Gus.

– I signed up for a race that happens to be sponsored by the Bulu Box people, which meant I got a 3 month Bulu Box subscription with my registration. Bulu Box describes themselves as the “Monthly Box of Healthy Discoveries that will Upgrade Your Health.” Each month, you get a box of samples and if you like something, you can go to their website to purchase a full size. There are lots of services like this now, for snacks and for particular sports interests.
New treats to try

The Trail Chips were totally unexpected and delish! I thought it would be a savory chip but there’s definitely a lot of sweetness to them. Ingredient-wise, they start with whole ground masa corn flour and rice flour as their primary ingredients, plus sunflower seeds, dried cranberries, blueberries, chia, quinoa and pumpkin seeds. They were a great afternoon snack for 125 calories (3 g fiber, 3 g sugar, 3 g protein) with a mix of salty and sweet that hit the spot mid-Monday afternoon. I’ll definitely be looking for these around town.

Think good thoughts for my baby today as he takes on the big kid world of kindergarten for the first time. I know he’ll be great and am excited by the kid he’s growing up to be, but it’s definitely hitting the mom feels today. He walked into school without looking back or waving today, so I think he’s ready.

All backpack!

Thanks as always to Patty, Erika and Marcia for hosting Tuesdays on the Run.

ToTR logo

 

Save

Save

Save

2 responses to “Running Selfies, Photobombs and a Handful of random reviews

  1. Oh man, I’m tearing up just thinking about that big kid walking into school! Thinking good thoughts for him!

Leave a Reply

