A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Thinking out loud

on August 11, 2016

I occasionally see a “Thinking out loud Thursday” post and that’s definitely how my fragmented brain is feeling today. I have meetings at 9:30, 11-12 and 1-2, all across campus from my office. That kind of fragmentation just kills my productivity. Thank goodness for the internet and my ability to set up a little mobile office to get some work done between these meetings.

Thank goodness, as well, for the prospect of marathon training to distract my mom brain a bit. We’re less than a week from having a kindergartner. There are a whole new set of logistics to consider now that daycare and preschool didn’t cover. Not to mention all of these reminders that I’m going to be old by the time this kid graduates from high school:
2029? Really?!

Oliver is getting a kick out of the fact that his teacher’s dog’s name is also Oliver (and adorable!). There’s a class website that has info and pictures about the teacher and her family that is helping Oliver feel like he knows her a little already, which is great. Send good vibes for me next week as we navigate the first week!

We had a school orientation event on Monday night where we were asked to sign up for Parent Teacher Organization committees. I told the president (who was manning the sign up sheets) that I could help with anything with enough advance notice so that I could block my schedule. She asked what kind of work I did and after I explained, she had me sign up for the Teacher Appreciation committee where apparently all I’ll need to do is donate gifts cards and food. One little part of me wondered if I should be offended that the presumed place for a working mom to serve is to buy stuff (after all, I can participate in a hands on way with advance notice) but with everything else going on with the start of school, I decided to just be grateful for an easy PTO task.
FlashStar

Oliver created this mask and named himself “FlashStar” at his birthday party. When his Nana asked what he wanted for his birthday, he asked her to draw him a picture. That threw her for a loop at first, but now she’s decided to draw him a picture of FlashStar the super hero. I’ll be sure to share with you guys how it turns out since she’s much more artistic than I am! (Most snails are more artistic than I am)

I feel like I should get a gold star for waking up early to run before work, even if those runs are still shorter than they should be. Next week, I’ll up the pace and wake up a little earlier so that I get in the full 3 miles but for now, I’m giving myself credit for just getting out there for these weekday runs. Everyone’s allowed a little warm up into their training plan, right?

What’s on your mind today? If I were able to take the whole day off for the first day of kindergarten, I might host my own booze-included first day of school brunch for my neighbors because I suspect I’m not the only one feeling a little scattered with the onset of school. 🙂

4 responses to “Thinking out loud

  1. I am not ready for kindergarten and I have two more years to prep myself. Kudos to you for getting running in when you can!
    I would also be slightly offended by the sign up, but at the same time, I don’t like people and doing stuff so I would also be relieved ha!

  2. Jennifer @ Dashing in Style says:

    A class website with photos of the teacher and her family is such a great idea! Of course I’m jealous they didn’t have that–well, actually, the Internet!–when I went to kindergarten. I also didn’t get a water bottle, and doubt there was even an orientation. Sounds like there’s so many more activities now. I can see it being a bit stressful!

Leave a Reply

