A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Tuesdays on the Run: Runs that go wrong

on August 9, 2016
This week’s Tuesdays on the Run is all about runs and races that didn’t go as planned. Thanks as always to Patty, Erika and Marcia for hosting!
ToTR logo
I’ve certainly had lots of running mishaps on training runs, including:

– getting lost

– not closing my water, so it jostled out all over my back until there was none in my bottle (boo!)

– falling down (more than once!)

– getting scared by dogs and just this weekend, this hat on a pole that made me think there was someone lurking behind a dumpster:

Spooked me

Literally jumped at that one. While trying to navigate a run down a hill. Things like this are probably why I fall down a lot.

Thankfully, race day usually goes more smoothly. Once I forgot my phone and had to borrow my husbands for some running music. Unfortunately, a) I could never figure out how to make the camera work so no photos for the blog – boo! and b) he didn’t have any music downloaded, so I had to go with Spotify which kept cutting out. Double boo! Now I’m diligent about checking for MY phone.

As clumsy as I am, I’ve of course also fallen down during a race (my first 5K) but most of the mishaps I can recall involve clothes. I’ve had shirts I had to constantly tug down and skirts I had to constantly pull up when I had too many things in my pockets. I’ve also had bad sports bra choices where I either had to adjust for chafing or felt the need to wrap my arms around my chest because the bouncing was out of control. You’d think by now I’d know to only wear an outfit I know works well for me! Sigh. Especially when I know there are going to be photos involved! Double sigh.

My biggest race mishap has to be breaking my toe right before the Princess Half Marathon. There’s no way I was skipping my first half marathon after all of the work I’d put in! I have to say, I would never recommend to anyone that they run a race with a broken toe. I can remember debating between running with it taped and risking chafing or running without tape and risking increased pain from the lack of stabilization from the tape. There was a little voice in the back of my head that was saying “If you’re having this conversation, you know you shouldn’t be running right?” I ran. It was fine. I wouldn’t recommend it to anyone else though.

image

Sorry for the runner feet!

What’s the biggest running mishap you’ve dealt with? Also, anybody else watch Michael Phelps’ face during the Olympics last night? Hilarious! I could have watched that all night and I hope he smokes that guy in the final.

7 responses to “Tuesdays on the Run: Runs that go wrong

  1. jennaruns says:

    They don’t all go as planned, but we’re stronger for it! Except for broken toes, that’s just the pits. I’ve never had anything too crazy but my last 10K I ended up running 2 miles to the start line and an hour back to my car! I didn’t know the area and am bad with directions. My own fault! Still a great run though. Just wore me out!

  2. mkadens1 says:

    I missed SO much Olympic goodness while in Ireland. The coverage there totally avoids anything regarding Team USA. Um yeah, I imagine a broken toe would be a bit of a race complication. Haha!

Leave a Reply

