A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Weekly Wrap-Up: Week One Always Hurts a Bit

on August 8, 2016

Nothing like the first week of real training to remind you how much difference there is between being “active” all summer and actually running regularly. Add in the summer temps and it was not the prettiest (or fastest) week of training, but all of the workouts got done and that’s a win.

Workouts

Monday Cross training on the schedule, which meant strength training (body weight exercises with a focus on my hips because I know that’s a trouble spot for me) and an evening hilly walk.

Tuesday I woke up, got ready to run, and realized it was storming outside. Boo. By the time I realized all of that, I didn’t have time to fit the gym in before the crazy day started. I wish I had a treadmill at home.

Wednesday Since I’d missed Tuesday’s run, I made sure I could get it in on Wednesday. I finished up my work a little early so I could hit the gym for some treadmill time before and during O’s swim lessons. This is the first time I’d thought to ask if I could go work out during swim lessons, instead of sitting there watching. While I like watching, it’s nice to know I can run upstairs to get some work in too. This might make a good weight training time since we do swim lessons at the gym and I know I’m going to be there at least once a week for 30 minutes anyway. Proud of myself for getting it in!

Thursday I woke up early to run again to get in my two weekday easy runs as part of this plan. I was short of my 3 mile plan, but at least I woke up and got outside. It’s a win!

Friday I went for a walk Friday for my cross training and also had a little NSV in that I treated myself to new bras and underwear. It’s time to admit that enough of the weight I’ve regained has settled on my chest to make me a walking wardrobe-malfunction-waiting-to-happen, so I went ahead and bought new bras. I feel much more comfortable about my clothes with just that one change. It’s okay to get a bigger size and feel like your clothes fit.

Treating myself

I also got one of the new Soma sports bras to try out and liked it. I used it on Saturday’s run and while there is some upper bounce, there’s no under bouncing thanks to the underwire and NO CHAFING – big wins. It was comfortable overall. I’ll try it again this weekend for a longer run and see if it still holds up well before I invest in another one, but promising so far.

Saturday We went out to breakfast as a family and I wore my running clothes so that I could run home. That worked really well and gave me a slightly different spin on the run, so that it didn’t feel like I was running the same route two days in a row. Since I’ll be running on both Saturday and Sunday for the next couple of months, anything to break up the monotony will be good! I ran 4 miles – definitely with lots of walking, but I told myself not to get down about it because A) I had 6 miles to run the following day, B) it was hot and muggy – always slower in those conditions and C) this was just the beginning of training, not a reflection of where I’ll be on race day. I also did some strength training as soon as I got home so I didn’t put it off in the midst of a busy day.

We spent the afternoon at a friend’s pool party, so I also got in some swimming and lots of pool walking. Even after all of that activity, Oliver wanted to go for a walk (complete with Batman sunglasses) when we got home, so it ended up being a very active day!
Batman

Sunday Another crazy busy day, as we had Oliver’s birthday for his friends (not yet his actual birthday). I woke up to run 6 miles, then decorate his Captain America cake. I’m proud of myself for prioritizing my workout rather than just saying I had too much “mom stuff” going on to get it done. I managed to do the run, get a shower and get the cake and cupcakes decorated in time for the party. Thank goodness I have great helpers in Darrell and Oliver! I’m grateful for my helpers and for the fact that we successfully navigated our first official birthday party.

Oliver had a great time at his party, which is really all that matters. We were worn out after two parties in two days, but he had so much fun at both – and was so well behaved at both! – that it was worth it.

This week, we start all of the back to school stuff. I can’t believe I’m about to have a real kindergartner. There may be lots of wine this week. Our school is actually hosting a “Boo hoo, Yahoo!” party for the kindergarten parents on the first day of school so that we can offer each other moral support after we drop our kiddos off for the first time, which I think is cute.

Other than birthday cake and some cookies at the party that I should have resisted, my food choices this week were good so I’m happy about that. I think the “training” mindset will definitely help steer me in the right direction. This week, I have a plan for morning runs on Tuesday and Thursday, cross training and strength training on Monday and Friday and then 7 miles / 7.5 miles on Saturday and Sunday. At this point, I’m reminding myself that all that matters is getting in the time on my feet. My pace will pick up as I get used to training again and the temperature drops. It’s a relief to finally get this training cycle started!

While this weekend’s runs felt tough and plodding, the really cool thing is that I did them knowing with absolute certainty that I could complete the miles and that I could go even further if I needed to. A couple of years of running has now instilled a really cool kind of confidence in me that I never had before, certainly not about my body. It can do stuff. Maybe not fast, maybe not sexy, but it can do amazing things.

What has running taught you about your body?

Thanks as always to Holly and Tricia for hosting our link-up!

weekly wrap up

10 responses to “Weekly Wrap-Up: Week One Always Hurts a Bit

  1. Great job to you!!!!! Running definitely makes us stronger!!

  2. Jennifer @ Dashing in Style says:

    Awesome first week! Nice job fitting it all in within a busy schedule. Good idea to get strength in while you’re at the gym for O’s swim lesson!

  3. Woo hoo week one down! AWesome job!

  4. I think I’m going to really see a difference come this fall when I get back to training. I’ve been active yes, but not running many miles at one time. I’ve gotten comfortable with 30 mins or less. I so need to do a complete underwear purge!
    Running has taught me that in whatever I do, I can do just a little bit more or just a little bit longer!

  5. HoHo Runs says:

    Confession: my bras are probably 15 years old. Oh, I’ve bought plenty of new ones and loathe all of them. If I can “feel” them, they have to come off! It’s a thing. I think running definitely teaches us we can do hard things. Just think of the options you have for working out during that 30 minute swim lesson! It’s like childcare. A Boo Hoo, Yahoo party sounds great and very clever on someone’s part. Your little one is growing up so fast. Thanks for linking, Jessica!

Leave a Reply

