A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Being brave in Montana

on July 28, 2016

One of my favorite “side effects” of this newer healthier lifestyle is how much braver I get in other aspects of my life, little by little. Like many people, I thought when I lost weight, I’d no longer feel so hesitant or self conscious. It didn’t really magically happen with the weight loss, it turns out. It’s taken a lot more internal work than just the external work of weight loss. Every time I consciously take that step outside of my comfort zone, it’s a little farther and that’s definitely worthy of celebration (plus, it’s a good excuse to share some more Montana pics so you can travel vicariously through me!)

In addition to the hiking I showed you guys pics of on Tuesday, I’ve also been out on the water here for kayaking (which was WAY harder than I expected!).
Water play

My “brave” moment during this was trying stand up paddleboarding, which was way easier and more fun than I expected! Sorry no pics – I was focusing on not falling in and didn’t want my phone to get wet, but trust me it was gorgeous. I have always had this fear of being the “fat girl falling” so trying the stand up paddleboarding felt scary, to say the least since that would have been a big splash of a fall, literally.

Yesterday, I did the grown up zipline with much longer and faster runs.
Long ride

I wasn’t remotely prepared for the “brave” that this one required – a public weigh in before we started to be sure you weren’t too heavy (too heavy = too fast). Yikes! I confess, if I’d known about that before, I might have avoided this excursion and that’s a sad thing to admit to myself.
Zip lining in Big Sky

Looks unreal doesn't it

That background doesn’t even look real, does it?

Fierce focus

Like my fierce focus as I try to catch the brake?

Today’s brave? River rafting for the first time. I didn’t really pack the best clothes for this, so I’m currently in this scientific session wearing sort of revealing tights (because there isn’t much time between the end of the session and the rafting excursion). You don’t want to know how many times I’ve told myself that no one is looking at and judging my butt in these tights. 🙂

Chipmunk

The students here with me are disappointed that so far we’ve only seen chipmunks and not anything more exciting. Personally, I’ve used my limits of bravery with these new adventures in activity, clothes and public weigh ins. I’m good without a bear or a moose. 🙂

What’s the bravest thing you’ve done today? Any last minute river rafting advice?

2 responses to “Being brave in Montana

  1. Jennifer @ Dashing in Style says:

    So awesome that you’re getting out of your comfort zone, trying new things, and having fun! I have to admit that I would probably be too scared to do the paddle boarding and zip lining. It’s really hard for me to get out of my own comfort zone!

Leave a Reply

