A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Revamping my playlists for a new training cycle

on July 12, 2016

I hauled myself out in the heat and humidity to run this morning, trying to get myself back into the habit of early morning workouts. With new training starting, that is going to be the toughest of my running life so far, motivation is something I will need in abundance! Music can be a big help in that regard, so I’m looking forward to checking out everyone’s posts in today’s Tuesdays on the Run link-up about running playlists. Thanks as always to Patty, Erika and Marcia for hosting.

ToTR logo

With new training cycles, I tend to add a couple of new songs to my running list rather than adopt a whole new playlist. I like to keep my old favorites, both because I still like those songs and they have a good running beat. More importantly though, I have lots of memories of prior good runs associated with those songs. Thankfully the good runs stick in my brain more strongly than bad runs! Some of my standbys include a lot of Pink, some Eminem, lots of AC/DC and scattered Disney songs. I add more Disney songs to the rotation for Disney races because it reminds me of where I’ll be going. Anything for a boost!

This summer, I’ve added a couple of new songs from recommendations on various running groups, like the new Justin Timberlake song Can’t Stop the Feeling, a song called Whistle While You Work It (Katy Tiz) and Demi Lovato’s Confident. Of course, I’ve also got some Hamilton in the mix too since that’s been the soundtrack of a lot of my summer.

image

Hopefully after reading all of the posts in today’s link up, I’ll get more songs since I need to expand my playlists for the MANY hours of marathon training ahead of me. I mix up running with music with running with podcasts and audiobooks, but a good song is a must for when runs get tough and motivation flags.

What’s your go-to pump it up song, for running or just for life?

8 responses to “Revamping my playlists for a new training cycle

  1. Meghann Richardson says:

    I just wrote a post similar to this not too long ago. Here are some of favorite songs this summer:
    Justin Timberlake – Can’t Stop the Feeling
    Fifth Harmony – Work from Home
    Grace featuring G Eazy – You Don’t Own Me
    Thomas Rhett – T-shirt
    Taylor Swift – Blank Space (I know this is an “older” song, but still great for car karaoke.

    Enjoy!

  2. I’m just like my country, young scrappy and hungry… LOVE Hamilton too. It’s been my work music. I put it on and tune out everything else while I work.

  3. Meg B says:

    I save Hamilton for my long runs and I have to tell you, it never gets old. HA!

  4. mkadens1 says:

    Confident has had a spot on my playlist for a few months now. Love it! Crazy how music has such strong memories attached to it.

Leave a Reply

