A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Weekly Wrap-Up: Definitely more active!

on June 27, 2016

Between (slightly) better weather and two races, this week was definitely more active than last week. In addition to actually getting in at least one weekday run and two walks, my goals for this week were to do my strength training since that totally fell off of my radar last week. I’m happy to say I did great with that goal! I did my hiking-focused exercises three days and planks and push ups every day. Big win! I actually did some kind of intentional exercise EVERY DAY this week. Much better!

Workouts

Monday We sent Darrell to see Wrath of Khan at the movie theater for his Father’s Day gift, so it was just Oliver and I for dinner Monday. We went for a walk in the neighborhood together before settling in for dinner and crafting together. He wanted to make Darrell a belated Father’s Day gift of a book. His drawings were so cute!
An evening walk?
Tuesday I woke up early for a thirty minute run around the neighborhood. The forecast called for rain, but I figured the rain would only help to cool things off (and it ended up not being much rain). Just practicing waking up early was as beneficial for my fitness as the run I suspect. It’s amazing how easy it is to fall out of that habit!

Wednesday I walked laps at the pool while O was in swim lessons. He and I also got an extra walk in after we went to a work picnic together (Darrell at the second of the Star Trek movies we sent him to this week).

Thursday I woke up early and went for a walk. It was hot and I had back to back races coming this weekend, so I gave myself the morning off from running. I actually woke up at 5 am just to get this walk in since I had a 7 am meeting. Any time I get in any kind of exercise before a 7 am meeting, I think I should get bonus points, don’t you?

Friday Another early morning walk, plus lots of running around doing errands.

Saturday I ran the Cornfield 2 Cornfield 10K (race recap coming later this week), which finished with corn on the cob, watermelon and beer at 9 am on a Saturday morning. Hmmm. . . . I will admit that I skipped that after party, appealing as it seemed. It was so HOT and the watermelon and other stuff was under this crowded tent. I didn’t want to go hang around more sweaty people with poor air flow. 🙂 All in all, it was fun (especially chatting with people at the back of the pack) but oy was it hot!! Remind me again next summer that I don’t like to race in the summer!

A cornfield!

Sunday I registered on impulse for the Road to Omaha run, which is a 5K held in conjunction with the College World Series. It finished with a loop around the baseball stadium and we get to see ourselves on the Jumbotron, which might be more fun if we didn’t look like a bunch of people who’d just been crazy enough to run in the June heat. 🙂

All in all, not a bad week.

My good deed this week was passing out compliments every day. I made it a goal to compliment someone at least once a day and it was so fun to see people smile. 🙂 My NSV is how consistent I’ve been with sticking to my snacking goals (no M&M’s and no night time snacking) despite a busy week with lots of temptations.

I’m grateful that the adorable Amazon commercial with the dog and the lion’s mane is on YouTube here and I can watch it as often as I want. I confess I have it bookmarked on my phone and watch it any time I’ve felt down in the last week.

Thanks as always to Holly and Tricia for hosting our link up!

weekly wrap up

Do you feel like you should get bonus points for those first few morning workouts where you have to set an alarm to drag yourself out of bed? It gets easier as I get into the rhythm of training, but those first few mornings are tough! I definitely feel like I should get even more points if I drag myself out of bed early in the rain to work out.

4 responses to “Weekly Wrap-Up: Definitely more active!

  1. Jennifer @ Dashing in Style says:

    Kudos on running back-to-back races…in the summer heat! I pretty much don’t race in the summer and give everyone who does so much credit. And yes, you definitely deserve bonus points for getting out of bed when you’re not used to it and running in the rain!

  2. mkadens1 says:

    Heck yes I feel like mega bonus points are in order for those crack of dawn workouts. Good for you for getting them done! I loathe those hot summer races, yet I keep signing up. Sigh.

Leave a Reply

