A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

5 weeks until marathon training!

on June 23, 2016

Yikes! I still can’t quite wrap my mind around the fact that I’m going to be MARATHON training. Crazy. Lots of people I know are starting their marathon training cycle or getting ready to start (check out Jennifer’s great post “The Good, The Bad and The Ugly“), which had me looking at the calendar to see that I have 5 weeks left. Wow! What can I do in the next 5 weeks to be ready for a good start?

  • Keep up the 5-6 mile runs on the weekend and couple of weekday runs, so I’m not starting from zero on week one.
  • Stick to my tracking and calorie target for the next 5 weeks, but start focusing on quality as much as calories so I’m in the habit of good fueling when training starts. Any weight I can lose between now and then is a benefit, obviously, but training requires a lot of attention to nutrition as a whole. I’m also re-reading Racing Weight and Eat to Peak this month to refresh my nutrition basics for training and to make a plan.
Definitely recommend this as a great guide to nutrition for runners!

Definitely recommend this as a great guide to nutrition for runners!

  • Stay diligent about strength training. I know that strength training is the first thing to fall off my to-do list when I start running 5-6 days a week, so establishing that good baseline will go a long way toward an injury free training cycle.
  • Training starts in summer, so that means working on hydration not just during the runs but all day. I’ve noticed I’ve fallen off of the wagon a bit in my water goals in the last week or so, so time to get back on board!
I filled my 32 oz water bottle as soon as I got to work and promise to refill it at least twice more today!

I filled my 32 oz water bottle as soon as I got to work and promise to refill it at least twice more today!

Importantly, I also going to enjoy this last month of running without a Garmin and without pressure. 🙂

Marathon vets out there, anything else I need to do to get ready for training?

3 responses to “5 weeks until marathon training!

  1. Mary says:

    Ahhhh!!! I can’t believe it’s this close. Your goals for the next 5 weeks sound very sensible and are things that will help you succeed. Good luck!!

  2. Meg B says:

    AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!! IT’s happening!!! So excited for you!!! 2017- The Year of The LLL Marathoners 😉

Leave a Reply

