A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Scenes from runs in the suburbs

on June 14, 2016
This week’s Tuesdays on the Run is topic “what you see on the side of the road,” which has the potential to be really interesting depending on where you live. I live in the suburbs so there’s nothing that exciting on my list:

– I see a wide variety of little liquor bottles tossed on the side of the road. I was going to attribute that to the nearby high school, but now that I think about it, I see them most often on the road by the retirement home. Hmmm . . . .

– I always have an eye out for interesting rocks and flowers for Oliver as he loves when I bring them home for him (or gathers them himself when he’s along for the run).

I loved the little walk/run, with flower picking, that O & I enjoyed together amidst the holiday chaos.

I loved the little walk/run, with flower picking, that O & I enjoyed together amidst the holiday chaos.

– If O is along for the run, we’re naturally also keeping an eye out for any bugs we might need to investigate. If you look really closely, you can see the bee here that we spent several minutes watching during our run this weekend. I got to “learn” all about pollination from my smart kiddo.

Bee watching
– I saw a sadly abandoned My Little Pony during that ill-fated walk where I fell a week ago. 😦 It made me wonder if it was somehow dropped accidentally from a window (prompting an I told you so from some parental unit) or if someone threw it out in anger.

– I see a wide variety of animals, depending on where I am, from deer in the park to this impressive turtle in our little suburb:

image

– My favorite is when there are notes written in chalk on the path in my local park, to cheer people along in their training.

Love the motivational message in the chalk!

Love the motivational message in the chalk!

What do you see along your running routes? The suburbs can be a little boring, so I’m looking forward to everyone else’s scenery!

Thanks as always to Patty, Marcia and Erika for hosting Tuesdays on the Run.
ToTR logo
8 responses to “Scenes from runs in the suburbs

  1. Some lovely views and things! I think if I saw a turtle during my run, I might be tempted to play with it.:\

  2. Oh how fun you see notes written in chalk. That must be a nice motivator. The most I see are smiling faces or rainbows.

  3. mkadens1 says:

    I see tons of turtles but it breaks my heart when they get smashed, poor things.

  4. Meg B says:

    I love that you bring cool things back for your son. I have to start doing that.
    We stop and check out the bees on our way to the city pool. One of our neighbors has lavender and we spend a good five minutes checking them out.

Leave a Reply

