A Little More Each Day

One working mama learning to run & to maintain my 100+ pound weight loss!

Weekly Wrap-Up: Lots more movement despite the injuries!

on June 13, 2016

Last week, one of my goals was getting more consistent about workouts and I’m happy to say that I definitely achieved that goal, despite my still aching finger. The good news is that everything but the tip of that finger feels pretty back to normal. I’ve got a couple of bruises that still hurt if you put direct pressure on them, but all of my joints are feeling okay. Today my finger is the least purple it’s been all week and even it only hurts with a certain kind of twisting. All in all, I’m healing up nicely and feel like I’m back on the exercise train.

Workouts

Monday Okay, on  this particular day, I wasn’t great about the exercise because I was still recovering from my fall. The rest of the week is better I promise! This is the only day all week where I didn’t get 10,000 steps.

Tuesday I got up and got in a run in the morning (30 minutes, no GPS), plus a walk in the evening and the Herculean effort of climbing 200+ stairs up to my office at work. I also did some strength work at night. Big wins all around!

Wednesday Walking in my hiking boots in the morning for 30-ish minutes.

Thursday Another 30 minute run without the Garmin – I enjoy taking a break from the detailed tracking of mileage and pace during the off season. If I’m moving, it’s a win.

Friday Another 30 minute walk in my hiking boots.

Saturday 4 hilly miles walked in my hiking boots, while reading recaps of the Pulpit Rock climb on my phone. Here hoping all of these hilly miles and stairs help me get ready!

Sunday I was planning to run 5 miles, but after spending the morning reading about Orlando over coffee, I didn’t have it in me to say no when Oliver asked to come run with me. I’m grateful all of our friends are safe and heartbroken for those who cannot say the same and who still walk in fear, even if they are physically safe for the moment. Oliver and I ran/walked to the playground and then I ran back and forth for a while on the sidewalk while he played. I also did some squats while pushing him on the swing, listening to him tell me about his imaginary universe. When I go the Cornfield 2 Cornfield 10K in a couple of weeks, I’m probably going to wish I’d run a few more miles this summer, but on this particular morning, my soul needed this time with the innocence and wonder of my kiddo. We ran/walked back to the house and ended up with around 3 miles all in all (for me, not him). My good deed was picking up litter with O as we went along (and explaining why breaking the foam packing peanut we found into a million pieces to watch it float away was not very nice to the environment!).
Swing timeSunday afternoon we went to the pool at my gym and I think that’s why my legs are so sore today! I spent a lot of time crab-walking back and through the water, supporting O’s trunk so he could practice his arm and leg motions of swimming. That’s quite the workout apparently! I also did strength training in the evening.

Almost every day this week, I got over 10,000 steps and I got 10 flights of stairs every day. I did lots of strength training through the week, even if I couldn’t do arm stuff because of my hand. I’m never great about doing a dedicated strength workout but I am good about doing a few movements through the day every day, which definitely adds up.

I stuck to my goals of no night snacking and no M&Ms, as well as tracking everything. I confess there’s a little voice in my head that is saying “you’re going to gain weight on vacation later this summer anyway – why worry about this now” but so far I’m ignoring that voice. It was especially hard to ignore when Darrell brought a bowl of M&Ms to bed one evening after O had been whining. Whining is my kryptonite – it short circuits every mom nerve I have, so resisting those M&Ms is definitely my NSV this week.
Temptation

Because I’ve got that little voice in my head saying to chuck it all before vacation (vacation isn’t until next month, so it’s definitely not time to throw in the towel!), my goal this week is simple: STAY THE COURSE. Keep tracking. Keep avoiding the night time snacks. Keep avoiding the M&Ms. Keep up the water and the activity. Even if I all I do is maintain between now and the start of marathon training in August, that’ll be better than gaining because I fell into the trap of letting everything slide due to impending vacations and birthdays and “well I’m about to train for a marathon, so this is pre-carb loading” and whatever other crazy excuse my brain comes up with in order to justify eating whatever I want. Yes, that “pre-carb loading” thought entered my brain when faced with chips and guacamole!

Thanks as always to Tricia and Holly for hosting our Weekly Link up.

weekly wrap up

 

In this ever uncertain world, I hope you and those you love are safe today and that we’re all a little kinder.

Do you have crazy mental chatter that tempts to you over-indulge? I must confess, I’m impressed at the things that my brain comes up with sometimes.
8 responses to “Weekly Wrap-Up: Lots more movement despite the injuries!

  1. Jennifer @ Dashing in Style says:

    All the little ways we stay active and eat healthy definitely do add up. Kudos on saying no to the M&Ms and having a plan for next week to stay the course. The hilly walks in hiking boots sound tough, but I’m sure they’ll pay off!

    • I did push ups in the breakroom today and wondered if there were security cameras watching me. Ah well – if there were, I gave security something different to see I suppose. 🙂

  2. You really did a great job this week. I would be happy with that as well. I think M&Ms can be so addictive once you get in the habit of just having a handful like I did. It was like kicking a real addiction to the curb! Great job on resistance in that department. Great goal and hey you can enjoy vacation much more by staying on track leading up to it right! Give little one an extra hug. He is our future generation and they need all the love and support we can give them. 🙂

  3. HoHo Runs says:

    I guess the best thing we can do is focus on the day we are on and not think about those impending I’m-probably-going-to-blow-it-anyway events. Because, there is ALWAYS something coming up. Great job in staying active this week. I hope your finger is getting better. Helping O swim sounds like an intense workout. Thanks for linking with us Jessica!

  4. Looks like a great week for you! Resisting those M&M’s is a huge NSV! I don’t know if I could do it. If they’re in the pantry, I’m going to break down at some point.

Leave a Reply

